Lie of the LandSt. George, Utah
Seasons

St. George, Utah Golf Overseed Schedule: Which Courses Close When, and Which Stay Open

The St. George, Utah golf overseed schedule: 2026 fall closure dates for every Washington County and Mesquite course, cart-path-only weeks and who stays open.

8 min readChecked Oct 16, 2026
Open the 3D map of every course →
Guide emblem: St. George, Utah Golf Overseed Schedule: Which Courses Close When, and Which Stay Open

The St. George golf overseed schedule runs from late August to early October. In 2026 the four City of St. George courses closed in turn between Sept 8 and Oct 6, Green Spring in Washington closed for most of a week in late September, and the Mesquite, NV courses closed for three to five weeks each. Coral Canyon and Black Desert don't overseed at all, but Black Desert in Ivins closes for its PGA TOUR event in the same window.

If you're planning a September or early October golf trip to St. George, Utah, the dates below decide where you can play.

Why St. George golf courses close every fall

Most courses in Washington County and Mesquite are bermudagrass. Bermuda loves heat but goes dormant and brown in winter, so each fall courses seed ryegrass over it to stay green until spring. To do that they close completely, usually after a day or two of aeration, while the new grass gets established.

St. George's city courses are typically closed about two weeks. Mesquite courses are typically closed about a month. After reopening, many stay cart-path-only for a few days to a few weeks while the new grass fills in.

The payoff is a green course from November to March. At St. George Golf Club, the city says the tees, fairways and greens stay rich green through those months while the rough, which isn't overseeded, goes brown.

2026 St. George golf overseed schedule

Dates come from each course's official maintenance page or the City of St. George 2026 schedule, except where noted.

Course Area Closed (2026) After reopening Source note
SunbrookWest St. GeorgeSept 8–22Not statedCity schedule; fall aeration Aug 25–27 with 18 open
Dixie Red HillsNear downtown St. GeorgeSept 9–23Not statedAeration Sept 9, then overseed
Green SpringWashingtonSept 18 and Sept 21–25Cart-path-only Sept 26–Oct 11Washington City rates page
St. George Golf ClubSoutheast St. GeorgeSept 21–Oct 5Not statedFall aeration Sept 16–17 (9 holes open)
SouthgateSouth-central St. GeorgeSept 22–Oct 6Cart-path-only about 2–3 weeksFall aeration Sept 15–16
SunRiverSouth St. GeorgeUntil Sept 24Not statedStart date not stated
Black DesertIvinsSept 14–Oct 6Not statedPGA TOUR event, not overseed

Mesquite, NV and the Arizona line:

Course Closed (2026) After reopening
Wolf CreekAug 30–Oct 2Some holes may be cart-path-only in October
ConestogaSept 1–30Not stated
Oasis CanyonsSept 2–30 (reopened Oct 1)Golf Zoo listed cart-path-only Sept 30–Oct 3
Falcon RidgeSept 7–Oct 3Not stated
Oasis PalmerSept 14–Oct 6 (reopened Oct 7)Cart-path-only may last 3–7 days
CasaBlanca2026 not found; 2025 was Sept 8–262025: cart-path-only Sept 27–Oct 9
Palms (Littlefield, AZ)2026 not published; 2025 was Sept 11–Oct 2Not stated
Coyote WillowsNot publishedOne listing says it stays open through overseed season

Wolf Creek's 2026 closure was preceded by spraying the course into dormancy from Aug 25 to Sept 1, and its 2025 closure was Sept 2 to 25, so the dates can move by more than a week from year to year.

Courses that don't close for overseed

A few courses skip the fall closure, which makes them the anchor of any September trip.

  • Coral Canyon in Washington (course guide) grows bentgrass greens and Kentucky bluegrass and ryegrass fairways all year, so it doesn't overseed. Its published aeration closures are in May (May 5–7) and August (Aug 18–20), but the year on those dates isn't stated.
  • Black Desert in Ivins is creeping bentgrass from tee to green with bluegrass rough, so there's no bermuda to overseed. It does close in mid-September to early October for the PGA TOUR, and in 2026 it played on mats with limited tees from Aug 1 to Sept 13.
  • Sand Hollow in Hurricane (course guide) publishes no overseed closure. It aerifies greens in early May and August and tells golfers to call for exact dates.
  • Sky Mountain, also in Hurricane, has no fall overseed closure on record; its aeration has been listed in early May.

We found no overseed dates for The Ledges, Copper Rock or Entrada, so call those courses before booking a September round.

Where to play in September, by part of town

Overseed season changes the map. Here's how the open courses fell by area in September 2026, with drive times from downtown St. George.

Area Drive from downtown September 2026 picture
Central and south St. George (city courses, SunRiver)7–14 minClosed in turn; usually one or two city courses open
West side, toward Ivins and Snow Canyon12–15 minSunbrook closed Sept 8–22; Black Desert closed from Sept 14; The Ledges and Entrada not published
Washington12–17 minCoral Canyon open; Green Spring closed Sept 18 and 21–25
Hurricane, toward Zion28–36 minSand Hollow and Sky Mountain published no fall closure
Mesquite, NV50–56 minMost courses closed for about a month

The east side is the safe bet. Coral Canyon is about 17 minutes from downtown, and Sand Hollow and Sky Mountain about 28 to 32 minutes, out toward Zion National Park. The Hurricane and Sand Hollow golf guide and Washington, Utah golf guide cover those courses, and golf near Zion National Park is useful if you're combining the two.

September 2026, week by week

Here's how the closures stacked up. Use it as a pattern for next year, not a promise.

Week Closed on the Utah side Closed in Mesquite
Sept 1–7City courses all open (SunRiver start date unknown)Wolf Creek, Conestoga, Oasis Canyons; Falcon Ridge from Sept 7
Sept 8–13Sunbrook, Dixie Red Hills (from Sept 9)Wolf Creek, Conestoga, Oasis Canyons, Falcon Ridge
Sept 14–20Sunbrook, Dixie Red Hills, Black Desert; Green Spring on Sept 18Add Oasis Palmer
Sept 21–27St. George GC, Southgate (from Sept 22), Green Spring (Sept 21–25); Sunbrook until Sept 22, Dixie until Sept 23Wolf Creek, Conestoga, Oasis Canyons, Falcon Ridge, Oasis Palmer
Sept 28–Oct 6St. George GC (to Oct 5), Southgate, Black DesertWolf Creek (to Oct 2), Falcon Ridge (to Oct 3), Oasis Palmer

Reading the city schedule closely, Sept 22 was the one day in 2026 when all four City of St. George courses were closed at once. For the rest of the window at least one city course, and usually two, was open.

In Mesquite, the Oasis pair is staggered on purpose: the Canyons closed two weeks before the Palmer and reopened a week earlier, so in late September or early October one of the two is usually open.

What about 2027?

Most 2027 overseed dates weren't published when we checked in October 2026. The one exception: Golf Zoo lists Falcon Ridge's 2027 closure as Sept 7 to Oct 2. The 2025 and 2026 patterns suggest the city courses will again close in turn from the second week of September into early October, and Mesquite courses from late August or early September for about a month. Check each course's maintenance page in summer before you book.

For a longer view, a 2022 Mesquite schedule ran Canyons Sept 4–30, Conestoga Sept 6–Oct 3, Wolf Creek Sept 6–29, Falcon Ridge Sept 12–30 and Palmer Sept 15–Oct 15. The window is consistent; the exact days are not.

How to check next year's St. George golf overseed schedule

The dates move every year, so treat any published St. George golf overseed schedule as good for one season only. Where to look:

  • City of St. George courses: the city posts an annual golf maintenance schedule PDF covering aeration and overseed for Sunbrook, St. George Golf Club, Southgate and Dixie Red Hills.
  • Green Spring: Washington City puts its closure and cart-path-only dates on the course rates page.
  • Mesquite courses: Wolf Creek, Conestoga, Oasis and Falcon Ridge all posted 2026 closures on their own sites. Golf Zoo also lists Mesquite dates, though its days sometimes differ from the course's by one or two.
  • Private and resort courses set their own schedules, so call.

When you call, ask three things: the closure dates, how many cart-path-only days to expect after reopening, and whether the range stays open. Prep can start before the closure itself; Oasis, for example, starts drying out the course 10 to 14 days before it shuts.

Spring aeration: the smaller closure

The fall overseed isn't the only disruption. The city runs spring aeration from mid-April to mid-May with partial openings. In 2026:

  • St. George Golf Club: Apr 15–16, 9 holes open
  • Southgate: Apr 27–28, 9 holes open
  • Dixie Red Hills: closed Apr 27, open half a day Apr 28
  • Sunbrook: May 12–14, 18 holes open

These rarely wreck a trip, but freshly punched greens putt badly for a week or two.

How to plan a September or early October trip

  1. Build around the courses that don't close. Coral Canyon and Sand Hollow are the safest anchors on the Utah side.
  2. Use the stagger. In mid-September 2026, St. George Golf Club and Southgate were open while Sunbrook and Dixie Red Hills were closed. Two weeks later it flipped.
  3. Expect crowds and cart paths. With fewer courses open, the open ones get busier, and freshly reopened courses may be cart-path-only.
  4. Mind the early-October events. The PGA TOUR event, the St. George Marathon and the Huntsman World Senior Games all fell in the first two weeks of October in 2026, when hotels were at a premium.
  5. Or wait a few weeks. By November everything has reopened and settled. See November golf in St. George.

The upside of September: city courses still charge their summer rate through the month, and highs drop to about 92°F. See the best time to golf in St. George, summer golf deals in St. George and Mesquite, Nevada golf courses for more.

Plan it on the map

On the 3D map of St. George golf, each course card shows its closure dates. Pick a date in September and check which courses near your hotel will actually be open and green.

Courses in this guide

St. GeorgeSunbrookPar 72 · Slope 138 · From $34 · 12 minThe city's flagship: 27 holes, red-cinder bunkers, water and lava. Pointe/Woodbridge is the classic pairing.St. George · 9 holesDixie Red HillsPar 34 · Slope 114 · From $19 · 7 minThe city's first course (1965): nine short holes under red cliffs, five minutes from downtown. A perfect late-afternoon nine.St. GeorgeSt. GeorgePar 73 · Slope 129 · From $27 · 10 minThe area's only par 73: long but forgiving, and among the cheapest 18s in town. It has no range, so warm up at Southgate.St. GeorgeSouthgatePar 71 · Slope 129 · From $27 · 8 minA short course with a wet front nine by the river and a hilly back nine, right off I-15. A good arrival-day round.WashingtonGreen SpringPar 72 · Slope 132 · From $30 · 12 minA city course with a canyon you have to carry on 5 and 6. Bring extra balls, and go early because the canyon holes back up.St. GeorgeSunRiverPar 71 · Slope 132 · From $34 · 14 minFlat, straightforward and cheap with a Washington County ID. Check recent reviews of the greens before you pay full rate.IvinsBlack Desert ResortPar 72 · Slope 139 · From $250 · 13 minGolf Digest's #2 in Utah and a PGA TOUR venue. Bentgrass corridors through black lava mean a miss is a lost ball. Stay on site to save $75–$125 a round.WashingtonCoral CanyonPar 72 · Slope 148 · From $65 · 17 minWide fairways but a brutal front nine (slope 155 from the tips) and real forced carries. Strong value for the test.HurricaneSand Hollow ChampionshipPar 72 · Slope 137 · From $75 · 32 minThe cliff-edge back nine (11–15) is the reason people fly in. Book the morning the 180-day window opens, or play it as a winter twilight for half price.HurricaneSky MountainPar 72 · Slope 130 · From $68 · 28 minA cheap, short mesa-top muni with some of the best views in the county, and the closest course to Zion. Wind is its only defence.MesquiteWolf CreekPar 72 · Slope 147 · From $200 · 52 minMesquite's showpiece and a Golf Digest top-100 public course: ridge-top tees, drops of nearly 100 feet and a 147 slope from the tips (155 on the back nine). Pick your tees honestly and budget five hours.MesquiteConestogaPar 72 · Slope 138 · From $70 · 56 minA top-20 Nevada course whose summer rate (Jun 22–Aug 30) drops to about $80–$120, the cheapest way to play a Golf Digest-ranked course in Mesquite if you can take the heat.MesquiteOasis CanyonsPar 71 · Slope 137 · From $105 · 50 minThe harder Oasis sister, with narrow canyon targets on the back nine. Same county-resident deal.MesquiteOasis PalmerPar 71 · Slope 138 · From $105 · 50 minA short Arnold Palmer target course where precision beats power. Washington County ID holders get Oasis resident rates.MesquiteFalcon RidgePar 72 · Slope 135 · From $50 · 52 minPlateau tees and big drops at a friendlier length, with brand-new back-nine greens in 2026. Ask for the local rate.MesquiteCasaBlancaPar 72 · Slope 141 · From $90 · 51 minA flat river-bottom layout with water on 13 holes that hosts the Nevada Open. It's the course to pair with a room-and-golf package.LittlefieldPalmsPar 72 · Slope 131 · From $56 · 57 minTwo courses in one: a palm-lined resort front nine, then a canyon back nine that's the real reason to go.Mesquite · 9 holesCoyote WillowsPar 35 · Slope 118 · From $50 · 53 minA neighbourhood nine by the river: $50, quick and not a destination. The website says 6 AM to noon, but the online sheet runs into mid-afternoon.St. GeorgeThe LedgesPar 72 · Slope 131 · From $75 · 15 minSits higher and cooler, with the back nine on the sandstone rim of Snow Canyon. Prices drop sharply after 2 pm.HurricaneCopper RockPar 72 · Slope 146 · From $95 · 36 minThe highest men's Course Rating in the St. George area (75.8 from the tips, slope 146) and host of the LPGA's Epson Tour event. Play a tee forward and stay below the hole.St. George · privateEntrada at Snow CanyonPar 71 · Slope 139 · 12 minA private Johnny Miller course rebuilt by David McLay Kidd, ranked #5 in Utah. The only way on without a member is a stay at The Inn at Entrada.

Questions golfers ask

When do St. George, Utah golf courses overseed?

Each fall between early September and early October. In 2026 the City of St. George closed Sunbrook Sept 8-22, Dixie Red Hills Sept 9-23, St. George Golf Club Sept 21-Oct 5 and Southgate Sept 22-Oct 6. Dates change every year.

Why do golf courses in St. George close in September?

Most courses in Washington County and Mesquite are bermudagrass, which goes dormant and brown in winter. Each fall they close, usually after a day or two of aeration, and overseed with ryegrass so the course stays green through the cool months.

Which St. George golf courses don't overseed?

Coral Canyon in Washington grows full-season cool-season grass and does not overseed. Black Desert in Ivins is all bentgrass with bluegrass rough, so it has no overseed, though it closed Sept 14 to Oct 6 in 2026 for its PGA TOUR event. No fall overseed closure was published for Sand Hollow or Sky Mountain in Hurricane.

How long are Mesquite, NV golf courses closed for overseed?

Usually three to five weeks. In 2026 Conestoga closed Sept 1-30, Oasis Canyons Sept 2-30, Falcon Ridge Sept 7-Oct 3, Oasis Palmer Sept 14-Oct 6, and Wolf Creek Aug 30-Oct 2.

Are St. George golf courses cart-path-only after overseed?

Often. Southgate warns of about two to three weeks of cart-path-only play after reopening, Green Spring was cart-path-only Sept 26 to Oct 11 in 2026, and Oasis in Mesquite says three to seven days.

Where can I golf in St. George in September?

Build around the courses that don't close: Coral Canyon in Washington, and Sand Hollow and Sky Mountain in Hurricane, which published no fall overseed closure. The City of St. George courses close in turn, so in most weeks of September 2026 at least one city course was open.

Keep reading