public · Washington, UT · 18 holes
Coral Canyon Golf Course
Wide fairways but a brutal front nine (slope 155 from the tips) and real forced carries. Strong value for the test.
Tees, rating and slope
| Tee | Yards | Men | Women |
|---|---|---|---|
| Black | 7,146 | 75.2 / 148 | 81.5 / 154 |
| Blue | 6,580 | 72.6 / 143 | 78.3 / 152 |
| Blue/White Combo | 6,151 | 70.6 / 135 | 76.0 / 148 |
| White | 5,810 | 69.0 / 128 | 74.1 / 145 |
| White/Red Combo | 5,310 | 66.7 / 123 | 71.3 / 134 |
| Red | 4,676 | 64.1 / 118 | 67.8 / 123 |
Course rating / slope, USGA Course Rating database where available.
Green fees
| Peak (Jan–Apr) | About $135 for 18 (Feb-May and Sep-Nov, Sun-Thu), $77 for 9 (STG Newsletter, Oct 2026) |
|---|---|
| Winter | About $115 for 18, $65 for 9 in Jan and Dec (STG Newsletter) |
| Twilight | About $85 peak / $75 Jan and Dec (STG Newsletter) |
| Locals | $20 off for seniors/military/juniors (STG Newsletter) |
Oct 2026 secondary source; a Sep 2026 GolfPass reviewer cited $125. Official online tee sheet showed no bookable times for Oct 12, 2026 when checked.
Before you book
| Access | Daily-fee (GolfPass labels it semi-private); new majority ownership/management since fall 2020 |
|---|---|
| Book ahead | Up to 90 days for groups of 11 or fewer; 12+ call (435) 688-9226. Credit-card guarantee; cancel 24 hrs ahead or pay the full rate (official policies page) |
| Overseed / closures | Does not overseed (full-season grass; St. George News, c.2020). Aeration closures listed May 5-7 and Aug 18-20 on a resort activity listing (year not stated). |
| Designer | Keith Foster (GolfPass also credits Brad Bartell and Kevin Hargrave) |
| Opened | 2000 |
| Style | Desert/canyon: wide fairways framed by thick rough, dry washes, red-rock outcrops, some forced carries into greens; views to Pine Valley Mountain and Zion |
| Carts | Half cart + range balls + tax included with tee time; no extra riders or extra carts (from Sep 1, 2025); GPS carts. Walking policy not stated. |
| Practice | Driving range (non-player passes: 3 hr $15 / all day $30; range closes 2pm Tuesdays for maintenance); lessons |
| Dress code | Soft spikes only; collared shirts; no denim; no gym clothes, sleeveless or tank tops |
| Pace | ~5 hrs reported by a 2024 GolfPass reviewer; a 2025 reviewer rated pace 5/5 |
| Elevation | 3,077 ft |
| Drive from downtown St. George | 17 min (10.4 mi) |
| Phone | (435) 688-1700 |
| Address | 1925 N Canyon Greens Dr, Washington, UT 84780 |
Signature holes
- #1 - par 4 from a tee high above the course; the drive drops about 100 ft, then an uphill approach (Greater Zion)
- #6 - short par 3 over a canyon to a two-tier green with a bunker and boulders (Greater Zion; the current official scorecard lists #6 as a 496-yd par 4, so the hole number may have changed - verify)
- #18 - dogleg-left par 4: cut the corner or play around it; views over Greater Zion (Greater Zion)
Local knowledge
- The front nine carries the teeth (slope 155 from the tips vs 140 back)
- Conditioning has rebounded under new ownership (Golf Digest panelists 2026; GolfPass 2025)
- Rounds can run ~5 hrs (2024 reviews); bring water - cart coolers may be empty on hot afternoons
- Every player needs their own bag - no sharing; no extra riders
- Range closes at 2pm on Tuesdays
Hole by hole
| Hole | Par | Yards* | Elev* | Hcp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 4 | 454 | -35 ft | |
| 2 | 3 | 151 | -12 ft | |
| 3 | 4 | 435 | -36 ft | |
| 4 | 3 | 253 | -7 ft | |
| 5 | 5 | 600 | +31 ft | |
| 6 | 4 | 512 | -38 ft | |
| 7 | 5 | 527 | +23 ft | |
| 8 | 3 | 213 | +15 ft | |
| 9 | 5 | 555 | +44 ft | |
| 10 | 5 | 516 | -34 ft | |
| 11 | 5 | 558 | +4 ft | |
| 12 | 3 | 197 | 0 ft | |
| 13 | 4 | 396 | +38 ft | |
| 14 | 4 | 382 | -92 ft | |
| 15 | 3 | 157 | +21 ft | |
| 16 | 4 | 482 | +32 ft | |
| 17 | 4 | 312 | -22 ft | |
| 18 | 4 | 428 | -31 ft |
*Yards measured along the mapped centre line (OpenStreetMap), close to the middle tees. Elevation = how far the green sits above (+) or below (−) the tee, from USGS terrain data.
Recognition
- GolfPass Golfers' Choice Top Courses in Utah #9 (2023, 2024)
Closest golf hotels
- Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. George North - Zion — 3 min, 0.6 mi
- Best Western Plus Settlers Point — 7 min, 4.0 mi
- Residence Inn by Marriott St. George — 9 min, 6.4 mi
Questions golfers ask
How much does it cost to play Coral Canyon Golf Course?
Green fees we have seen range from $65–$135, depending on season and time of day. Peak season: About $135 for 18 (Feb-May and Sep-Nov, Sun-Thu), $77 for 9 (STG Newsletter, Oct 2026)
When is Coral Canyon Golf Course closed for overseeding?
The latest published closure is May 5 – May 7. Does not overseed (full-season grass; St. George News, c.2020). Aeration closures listed May 5-7 and Aug 18-20 on a resort activity listing (year not stated).
How hard is Coral Canyon Golf Course?
From the back tees it measures 7,146 yards with a course rating of 75.2 and a slope of 148. 4/5 - 75.2/148 from Black (front-nine slope 155); forced carries into greens, but wide fairways
How far ahead can you book Coral Canyon Golf Course?
Up to 90 days for groups of 11 or fewer; 12+ call (435) 688-9226. Credit-card guarantee; cancel 24 hrs ahead or pay the full rate (official policies page)
How far is Coral Canyon Golf Course from St. George?
About 17 minutes (10.4 miles) by road from downtown St. George in light traffic.
Guides that feature Coral Canyon
- A 3-Day St. George, Utah Golf Itinerary with Real Drive Times
- 5 Days, Two States: A St. George, Utah and Mesquite, Nevada Golf Itinerary from Las Vegas
- The Best Golf Courses in St. George, Utah, Ranked by What You Get for the Round
- The Best Time to Golf in St. George, Utah, Month by Month
- Cheap Golf in St. George, Utah: The Lowest Green Fees and Seven Ways to Pay Less
- Copper Rock Golf Course in Hurricane, Utah: The Named Holes, What It Costs, and What Reviewers Say