Phoenix golf overseed: fall 2026 closures course by course, and how to plan around them
Phoenix golf overseed dates for fall 2026: when each Scottsdale and Phoenix course closed, cart-path-only weeks, who stayed open and how to plan a fall trip.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Phoenix golf overseed runs from mid-September to mid-November, and in 2026 most courses closed for two to three weeks at some point in October, then reopened with a week or more of cart-path-only play. Clubs with two courses stagger the work, so a fall trip is still possible if you choose courses by date rather than by name.
This guide lists every 2026 overseed date in our files, the cart-path periods after, the courses that did not publish dates, and how to plan October and November golf around them. Dates come from course sites and the City of Phoenix 2026 overseeding schedule; confirm 2027 dates with each course.
Quick facts
- Window: late September to early November; about two to three weeks closed per course.
- Earliest 2026 closure: Whirlwind Devil's Claw, September 14.
- Latest 2026 reopening: Arizona Grand, November 14.
- City of Phoenix courses: 14 to 17 days each, between October 5 and November 1.
- After reopening: cart path only, temporary greens or slow greens for a week or more.
- Stagger: Troon North, Grayhawk, Whirlwind, We-Ko-Pa and Talking Stick each kept one course open while the other closed.
How Phoenix golf overseed works
Most Valley courses are bermudagrass, which goes dormant and tan when nights cool. Almost every resort, daily-fee and municipal course overseeds with ryegrass each fall, so fairways play green from about November to May. The course closes while the rye is seeded and watered in, then reopens with restrictions until it can take carts. In spring the rye dies back as the bermuda returns, usually in May and June. The City of Phoenix also closes each course for one or two days of aeration in June and August.
Phoenix golf overseed dates for 2026
| Course | Closed (2026) | Restrictions after |
|---|---|---|
| Whirlwind Devil's Claw | Sep 14 - Oct 1 | cart path only Oct 2-16 |
| Troon North Pinnacle | Sep 20 - Oct 8 | reopened Oct 9 |
| Gold Canyon Sidewinder | Sep 21 - Oct 4 | greens and tees only; no cart rule |
| Arizona Biltmore Links | Sep 23 - Oct 13 (year not stated) | a few weeks cart path only |
| Talking Stick O'odham | Sep 27 - Oct 15 | cart path only Oct 16 - Nov 5 |
| Grayhawk Talon | Sep 28 - Oct 11 | not stated |
| Troon North Monument | Oct 4-24 | reopened Oct 25 |
| Trilogy at Vistancia | Oct 4-22 (year not printed) | not stated |
| We-Ko-Pa Cholla | Oct 5-22 | cart path only through Nov 24 |
| Whirlwind Cattail | Oct 5-22 | cart path only Oct 23 - Nov 6 |
| Aguila | Oct 5-19 | reopened Oct 20 |
| Palo Verde | Oct 5-18 | not stated |
| The Wigwam Gold | Oct 7-27 (unverified alert) | about three weeks cart path only |
| Cave Creek | Oct 12-25 | reopened Oct 26 |
| Grayhawk Raptor | Oct 12-29 | not stated |
| We-Ko-Pa Saguaro | Oct 12-29 | reopened Oct 30 |
| Gold Canyon Dinosaur Mountain | Oct 12 - Nov 5 | cart path only up to six weeks |
| Papago | Oct 13-29 | reopened Oct 30 |
| GCU Golf Course | Oct 13-29 | not stated |
| Encanto 18 and Encanto 9 | Oct 19 - Nov 1 | reopened Nov 2 |
| Talking Stick Piipaash | Oct 19 - Nov 5 | cart path only Nov 6-26 |
| Arizona Grand | Oct 19 - Nov 13 | reopens Nov 14 |
All Troon North facilities were closed October 4-8. We-Ko-Pa began prep a week before each closure (September 28 for Cholla, October 5 for Saguaro), and Talking Stick's range and putting green were closed September 21 to October 15, with the range reopening November 4. The Cholla cart-path date comes from a Golf Zoo listing, not the club.
Who did not publish dates
Some 2026 dates were not found: TPC Scottsdale Stadium (KTAR reported a prior year's closure on October 7, when Phoenix Open build-out also starts), Legend Trail, Dove Valley Ranch, Rancho Mañana, Tatum Ranch, McDowell Mountain, the two Wildfire courses at JW Marriott Desert Ridge (Palmer and Faldo), and McCormick Ranch (Palm and Pine). Scottsdale Country Club said only that its fall overseed was complete. For Verrado Victory a course listing gave September 15-17 and September 21 to October 9. Ak-Chin Southern Dunes had no 2026 dates; in 2025 it closed October 13-30 and was cart path only to November 27. For any course on this list, call before you book a fall date.
Courses that skip full overseed
- Gold Canyon Sidewinder overseeds greens and tees only, which is why it reopened a month before Dinosaur Mountain with no cart restriction. The trade-off is dormant bermuda fairways in mid-winter.
- Verrado Founders: a reviewer notes the rough is not overseeded, so expect tan bermuda off the fairways in winter.
- The Boulders South: its TifEagle greens are not overseeded; fairways are typically overseeded in fall, but 2026 dates were not published.
Where to play during overseed
Pick the open half of a two-course club. In 2026 the swaps were clean: Whirlwind Cattail was open while Devil's Claw closed in September; Troon North Pinnacle reopened October 9 while Monument was closed; Grayhawk Talon reopened October 12, the day Raptor closed; and We-Ko-Pa Cholla reopened October 23 while Saguaro was shut until October 29. In the city, Aguila and Palo Verde reopened around October 19-20, just as Encanto closed for its turn. Our Talking Stick O'odham course guide, Monument course guide and Papago course guide carry each course's own dates.
Planning a fall trip around Phoenix golf overseed
- Mid-September to early October: courses are closing one by one, and it is still hot (September averages 100F). Treat it as summer golf.
- Mid-October: the most closures at once. Build the trip around Pinnacle, Talon, Cholla and the reopened city courses.
- Late October to mid-November: most courses are back, often cart path only, at shoulder rates below the January to April peak. November averages 76.5F and is one of the best golf months.
- Book each round against its course record. A course that reopened last week will have young rye and may be cart path only.
For trip timing see Scottsdale golf in October and November and the best time to golf in Scottsdale. City course rates are in our Phoenix municipal golf guide, and Scottsdale tee times explains each booking window.
Questions to ask before booking a fall round
Phoenix golf overseed dates move a little each year, so for any round between mid-September and late November ask the shop:
- Is the course open on my date, and is it the course I booked or its sister course?
- Is it cart path only, and until when?
- Are the greens temporary, and is the range open?
- Is the rate a post-overseed or shoulder rate?
The answers decide whether a 2026 date carries over to 2027.
Snowbirds arriving in the fall
Snowbirds who arrive in early November find most courses open but some still cart path only, which suits a slow start. Gold Canyon's Dinosaur Mountain is the one to watch from an Apache Junction or Gold Canyon base, with cart-path-only possibly into mid-December; see Gold Canyon golf. Our Phoenix winter golf guide covers the rest of the season. The Palm Springs overseed guide and Tucson overseed guide follow the same pattern in the other desert towns.
Plan it on the map
Open the Scottsdale golf map to see each course's overseed and cart-path dates on its card. The $30 plan checks every round against those closures, so a fall trip or the first weeks of a snowbird winter only books courses that are open.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
When do Phoenix golf courses overseed?
Mostly between late September and early November, with each course closed for about two to three weeks. In 2026 the earliest closure in our files was Whirlwind's Devil's Claw on September 14 and the latest reopening was Arizona Grand on November 14. Most courses close at some point in October.
Why do Scottsdale courses close in the fall?
Nearly every course here is bermudagrass, which goes dormant and tan in the cool months. Courses overseed it with ryegrass each fall so they play green from about November to May. The rye needs a closed course and then light traffic while it grows in.
Can I play golf in Scottsdale in October?
Yes, if you pick courses by date. Multi-course clubs stagger their closures, so one course stays open: Grayhawk's Talon reopened October 12 as Raptor closed, and Troon North's Pinnacle reopened October 9 while Monument was closed. Whirlwind's Cattail stayed open while Devil's Claw overseeded in September.
When did the City of Phoenix courses overseed in 2026?
The city's schedule (revised October 20, 2026) lists Aguila October 5-19, Palo Verde October 5-18, Cave Creek October 12-25, Encanto 18 and the Encanto nine October 19 to November 1, and Papago and GCU October 13-29. Each closure ran 14 to 17 days.
What does cart path only mean after overseed?
Carts must stay on the paths so the young rye is not damaged, which means more walking to your ball. In 2026 Talking Stick's Piipaash was cart path only November 6-26 and We-Ko-Pa's Cholla through November 24. Gold Canyon's Dinosaur Mountain warned of up to six weeks after its November 6 reopening.
Do any courses skip full overseed?
A few. Gold Canyon's Sidewinder overseeds only greens and tees, so its fairways are dormant bermuda in mid-winter, and a reviewer reports Verrado Founders does not overseed its rough. The Boulders South has TifEagle greens that are not overseeded.
Is TPC Scottsdale closed for overseed?
TPC did not publish 2026 dates. KTAR reported a prior year's Stadium Course closure on October 7, which is also when Phoenix Open build-out starts, and the course was open in November 2026.
Keep reading
SeasonsScottsdale golf in October and November: what is open, what it costs and when to goScottsdale golf in October and November: when each course reopens after overseed, cart-path-only weeks, shoulder fees seen in 2026 and how to time a trip.6 min read
TipsScottsdale tee times: booking windows, systems and how to land a peak morningScottsdale tee times explained: which courses publish a booking window, the 90-day and 9-day systems, card-holder early access and how to book peak mornings.6 min read
SeasonsPhoenix summer golf: heat, dawn tee times and the year's lowest green feesPhoenix summer golf explained: June to September heat and monsoon, dawn tee times, summer rates seen at We-Ko-Pa and the city courses, and summer closures.6 min read