Palm Springs golf overseed: 2026 fall closures course by course, and how to plan around them
Palm Springs golf overseed dates for fall 2026, course by course: closures, reopenings, cart-path-only weeks, staggered pairs and courses that stay open.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Palm Springs golf overseed closures run from late September to late December. In 2026 Desert Willow Mountain View closed first (September 21) and Desert Willow Firecliff reopens last (December 26). Most courses close two to five weeks, and pairs stagger so one stays open. Expect two to three weeks of cart-path-only play after each reopening.
Nearly every resort and daily-fee course in the Coachella Valley is bermudagrass overseeded with rye, and the fall closure is the one thing that can sink an October or November trip. This guide lists the 2026 dates from each course record, notes where the date is unconfirmed, and shows how to plan around them. Dates were checked November 2, 2026.
Quick facts
- Window: second half of September to late December 2026, most closures in October.
- First to close: Desert Willow Mountain View and Tahquitz Creek Resort, September 21.
- Last to reopen: Desert Willow Firecliff, December 26; PGA West Norman, December 7.
- After reopening: usually two to three weeks of cart-path-only play.
- Staggered pairs: Desert Willow, Tahquitz Creek, PGA West and the Desert Springs courses keep at least one course open most of the season.
- No overseed: Rams Hill in Borrego Springs since its 2024 TifTuf conversion.
How Palm Springs golf overseed works
Bermudagrass thrives in desert heat but goes dormant and tan in the cool months. So almost every resort and daily-fee course overseeds with ryegrass each fall, with greens often seeded with Poa trivialis or bentgrass blends. The rye grows in over a few weeks and keeps courses green from about November to May. In May and June, as heat returns, the rye dies back and the bermuda takes over again, the spring transition, so some courses look patchy then.
While the rye establishes, courses close for anywhere from about two weeks to more than a month. One golf-travel guide estimates that about two-thirds of valley courses close at some point in October; that is an undated estimate. When they reopen, expect cart-path-only rules, temporary or slow greens, and sometimes reduced overseed rates.
2026 overseed closures, course by course
| Course | Closed | Reopens | Cart path only after |
|---|---|---|---|
| Desert Willow Mountain View | Sep 21-Oct 22 | Oct 23 | Not stated |
| Tahquitz Creek Resort | Sep 21-Oct 22 | Oct 23 | About 2 weeks |
| Escena | Sep 27-Oct 28 (club page) | About Oct 28-30 | Not stated |
| Pete Dye Dunes | Sep 28-Oct 25 | Oct 26 | Oct 26-Nov 15 |
| Eagle Falls | Sep 28-Nov 1 | Nov 2 | About 2 weeks |
| Indian Canyons North | Sep 30-Oct 29 | Oct 30 | Not stated |
| PGA West Nicklaus Tournament | Oct 5-Nov 1 | Nov 2 | Nov 2-22 |
| SilverRock | Oct 12-29 | Oct 30 | Oct 30-Nov 24 |
| Westin Pete Dye | Fall overseed | Nov 3 | Possibly first days |
| PGA West Stadium | Oct 12-Nov 8 | Nov 9 | Nov 9-29 |
| Classic Club | Oct 12-Nov 10 | Nov 11 | About 3 weeks |
| Pete Dye Mountain | Oct 19-Nov 15 | Nov 16 | Nov 16-Dec 6 |
| Indian Canyons South | Oct 19-Nov 16 | Nov 17 | Not stated |
| Tahquitz Creek Legend | Oct 23-about Nov 25 | About Nov 25 | About 3 weeks typical |
| PGA West Norman | Nov 9-Dec 6 | Dec 7 | Dec 7-27 |
| Desert Willow Firecliff | Nov 9-Dec 25 | Dec 26 | Not stated |
Sources are the course and resort sites where available: PGA West's 2026 fall overseed schedule, desertwillow.com, silverrock.org and Escena's club page. Tahquitz Creek and Indian Canyons dates come from a golf-travel company's 2026 overseed schedule and the resorts' own notices; Tahquitz Legend's dates are approximate and not confirmed on the club site. Escena's dates vary slightly by source (another listing gives September 28 to October 30). The Westin's banner said it reopens November 3, 2026 after overseed.
Dates found without a confirmed 2026 year
Several Greenskeeper alerts give dates without a year. They are the best available, but call first:
- Heritage Palms: October 1 to November 6, reopening November 7 with about 3 weeks cart-path-only.
- Desert Falls: October 1 to 31, reopening November 1 with about 2 weeks cart-path-only.
- Big Rock at Indian Springs: October 7 to November 1, reopening November 2.
- Terra Lago North: about September 29 to October 31, reopening about November 1 with about 3 weeks cart-path-only. Terra Lago South was taking bookings on October 18, 2026.
- JW Marriott Desert Springs Palm: October 26 to November 22, reopening November 23. The Valley Course had tee times on November 3, 2026.
- Omni Rancho Las Palmas: September 28 to November 5, reopening November 6.
- Cimarron Boulder: September 25 to October 28 in an undated alert; it had tee times by November 3, 2026.
Others: Shadow Hills South reopens about November 6 (it also closes in summer). Mission Hills Gary Player said only that it plans to open "in November". Marriott's Shadow Ridge closed October 6 to 31 in 2025; 2026 dates were not found. Indian Wells Golf Resort published its 2026 dates only as an image that could not be read; in 2022 the Players reopened October 13 and the Celebrity closed October 16 to November 3, so call 760-346-4653. Mountain Vista overseeds one course at a time between mid-September and mid-November.
Courses that stay open, and the staggered pairs
Two-course facilities usually overseed at different times. In 2026:
- Desert Willow: Mountain View reopened October 23, two and a half weeks before Firecliff closed on November 9. From November 9 to December 25, Mountain View is the only Desert Willow course open, so expect it to be busy and priced up. See the Firecliff course guide.
- Tahquitz Creek: Resort closed September 21 to October 22, Legend from October 23 to about November 25. See the Tahquitz Creek Resort course guide.
- PGA West and La Quinta Resort: five resort courses staggered from late September to early December.
- Indian Canyons: the exception. North was closed to October 30 and South from October 19, so both were shut October 19 to 30.
Off the valley floor, Rams Hill in Borrego Springs, about 125 minutes from downtown Palm Springs, converted to TifTuf bermuda in 2024 and stays open year-round, so it is an October option; see the Rams Hill course guide. Oak Valley in Beaumont did its greens aeration and tee overseed September 14 to 27 and reopened September 28. The Indio Golf Course par-3 had no published closure.
Planning a trip around overseed
- Late September to mid-October: the thinnest choice. Build around Mountain View and Tahquitz Resort after October 23, Terra Lago South, or a day at Rams Hill or Oak Valley.
- Late October: better. Pete Dye Dunes (October 26), SilverRock and Indian Canyons North (October 30) and Escena are back, mostly cart-path-only.
- Early November: most courses are open, including the Nicklaus Tournament (November 2) and the Westin (November 3). The November normal high at Palm Springs airport is 78.7F.
- Mid-to-late November: the Stadium (November 9), Classic Club (November 11), Pete Dye Mountain (November 16) and Indian Canyons South (November 17) return; plan for cart-path-only weeks.
- December: everything is back except Norman (to December 7) and Firecliff (to December 26).
Cart-path-only weeks mean more walking and slower rounds. For a group on a short trip, mid-November onward is the safer window. For more on the season, read Palm Springs golf in October and November and the best time to golf in Palm Springs. The facility guides go deeper: Desert Willow, PGA West and Tahquitz Creek. Snowbirds arriving in November can build around open courses using Palm Springs winter golf, and book with the windows in Palm Springs tee times. For how other desert towns handle it, see Tucson golf overseed.
Plan it on the map
Open the Palm Springs golf map to see each course's 2026 overseed dates and cart-path-only weeks. The $30 plan checks every round in your trip, or every week of a winter stay, against these closures so you never book a course that is shut.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
When do Palm Springs golf courses overseed?
Each fall, usually between the second half of September and early November, with a few running into December. Closures last from about two weeks to more than a month. In 2026 Desert Willow Mountain View closed first, on September 21, and Desert Willow Firecliff reopens last, on December 26.
Why do Palm Springs courses close in the fall?
Most valley courses are bermudagrass, which goes dormant and tan in the cool months. They overseed with ryegrass each fall so they play green from about November to May, and they close while the new grass grows in, then reopen with cart-path-only rules for a couple of weeks.
Which Palm Springs golf courses are open in October?
In October 2026: Desert Willow Mountain View from October 23, Tahquitz Creek Resort from October 23, Pete Dye Dunes from October 26, SilverRock from October 30, Indian Canyons North from October 30 and Terra Lago South, which was taking bookings mid-month. Off the board, Rams Hill does not close for overseed and Oak Valley's closure was in September.
When does PGA West reopen after overseed in 2026?
The Pete Dye Dunes reopened October 26, the Nicklaus Tournament reopens November 2, the Stadium November 9 and the Pete Dye Mountain November 16. The Norman closes latest, November 9 to December 7. Each has about three weeks of cart-path-only play after reopening.
Is it worth golfing in Palm Springs during overseed?
It can be, if you pick courses that are open. Many reopen with cart-path-only rules and new rye, and reduced rates are common on courses that stay open. Mid-November is a safer bet than October for a first-time trip.
What does cart path only after overseed mean?
Carts must stay on the paths while the new rye establishes, so you walk more to your ball and rounds run slower. PGA West's 2026 schedule has about three weeks of cart-path-only play after each reopening, and SilverRock runs it from October 30 to November 24.
Do any Palm Springs area courses skip overseed?
Rams Hill in Borrego Springs converted to TifTuf bermuda in 2024 and no longer closes for fall overseed, so it plays dormant tan bermuda in midwinter. The Indio Golf Course par-3 had no published overseed closure, though it takes November bookings by phone.
Keep reading
SeasonsPalm Springs golf in October and November: reopening dates and shoulder ratesPalm Springs golf in October and November 2026: which courses are open during overseed, reopening dates course by course, and November shoulder rates seen.7 min read
PlanningPalm Springs golf rates: green fees by season, course by coursePalm Springs golf rates course by course: peak, shoulder and summer green fees seen in 2026 for PGA West, Desert Willow, Indian Canyons, Escena and more.7 min read
SeasonsPalm Springs golf in winter: what December and January are really likePalm Springs golf in winter: December and January weather, frost delays at the east end, which courses are closed, The American Express week and rates seen.7 min read