Tucson vs Scottsdale golf: what Tucson brings to the comparison
Tucson vs Scottsdale golf from the Tucson side: resorts, access rules, 2026 green fees, weather, airports and the drive. Scottsdale prices aren't covered.
Open the 3D map of every course →
On Tucson vs Scottsdale golf, this guide gives Tucson's side only: what the Tucson area offers, what it cost in 2026 and how it fits with a Phoenix-area trip. Our research files do not cover Scottsdale, so Scottsdale prices and courses aren't covered here. Use the Tucson figures below and price Scottsdale against them.
Tucson's case rests on four things: desert resort golf in the foothills, resorts that unlock otherwise private courses, cheap city and daily-fee rounds, and a big snowbird scene in Green Valley, Oro Valley and SaddleBrooke. Prices were seen in October 2026 and change.
Quick facts
- Scope: Tucson only. Scottsdale prices aren't covered here.
- Distance: Phoenix Sky Harbor to downtown Tucson about 121 minutes on I-10 (free-flow estimate).
- Clock: Arizona time all year, the same as the Phoenix area.
- Resorts with golf: seven around Tucson, plus Tubac Golf Resort south of Green Valley.
- Public green fees seen: about $35 to $86 for 18 at daily-fee and town courses (late October 2026).
- Best month: March, 75.8F normal high.
- Spring training: none in Tucson; the Cactus League is all in metro Phoenix.
What Tucson offers in the Tucson vs Scottsdale golf choice
Resort golf, with some access rules
Tucson's golf resorts fall into two groups: resorts whose courses take public tee times, and resorts that are the only way onto a private or guest-only course.
| Resort | Course | Who can play | Drive from downtown |
|---|---|---|---|
| JW Marriott Starr Pass | Starr Pass, 27 holes | Public and guests | 11 min |
| Omni Tucson National | Catalina and Sonoran, 36 holes | Public and guests | 23 min |
| Casino Del Sol | Sewailo | Public; guests get packages | 22 min |
| Loews Ventana Canyon | Ventana Canyon Mountain and Canyon | Members and resort guests | 30 min |
| The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain | Golf Club at Dove Mountain, 27 holes | Members and hotel guests | 38 min |
| Westin La Paloma | La Paloma, 27 holes | Private; guest policy for 2026 unconfirmed | 21 min |
| Tubac Golf Resort | Tubac, 27 holes (18 open until about Jan 2027) | Public and guests | 60 min |
The two Fazio courses at Ventana Canyon alternate daily between member play and resort play, so check which one is in the resort rotation on your dates. The Ventana Canyon Mountain course guide covers the famous par 3. The Dove Mountain course has not been open to non-guests since 2016.
Resort room rates could not be read online in October 2026, so they are not quoted here. Nightly resort fees were published: $49 at the JW Marriott, $39 plus tax at Loews and about $68.73 at the Ritz-Carlton on travel sites. The Tucson golf resorts guide goes through each one.
Public golf at city and daily-fee prices
For the Tucson vs Scottsdale golf comparison, value golf is where it is easiest to compare like with like. These were published 18-hole prices in fall 2026.
| Course | Type | Price seen | Cart |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quarry Pines | Daily fee, Marana | $34.99 (Oct 20, 2026) | Included |
| Crooked Tree | Daily fee, northwest | $42.95-$63.17 (Oct 27, 2026) | Included |
| Haven | Public, Green Valley | $44.99 (Oct 18, 2026) | Included |
| El Conquistador | Town-owned, Oro Valley | $46.69-$85.79 (Oct 27, 2026) | Not stated |
| Randolph North | City of Tucson | From $50 in winter (undated) | Not stated |
The five city courses are run by OB Sports as Tucson City Golf. The 2026 City Card was on sale for $50 plus tax for the rest of 2026, with card rates every round. Fred Enke, the city's only desert target course, is the cheap way to try desert golf before paying resort rates. See Tucson golf rates for the full list.
Weather for winter golf
| Month | Tucson high / low | Rain | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| November | 75.1F / 47.9F | 0.56 in | Fresh rye on overseeded courses |
| January | 66.5F / 40.8F | 0.84 in | Frost delays possible on early times |
| February | 69.2F / 43.2F | 0.84 in | Busiest month in town (gem shows) |
| March | 75.8F / 48.0F | 0.56 in | Best golf month; peak rates |
| April | 82.9F / 53.3F | 0.24 in | Very dry, breeziest stretch |
NOAA 1991-2020 normals at Tucson International, elevation about 2,550 feet. Winter nights are about 4 to 5F colder in Green Valley and about 10F colder at Catalina State Park on the Oro Valley edge. Our best time to golf in Tucson guide covers every month.
Getting there
Tucson International (TUS) is about 17 minutes from downtown, with nonstops including American to Chicago-O'Hare and Dallas/Fort Worth, Delta to Atlanta, Southwest to Denver, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Phoenix and San Diego, Alaska to Portland and Seattle, and United to Chicago, Denver, Houston and San Francisco. It has no nonstop from Canada.
Phoenix Sky Harbor is the gateway with Canadian nonstops, including WestJet from Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatoon and Vancouver and Air Canada and Porter from Toronto. Many snowbirds fly into Phoenix and drive south. Our flights to Tucson guide compares the two airports.
Doing both: a split trip
Because the drive is about two hours, a Tucson vs Scottsdale golf decision does not have to be either-or.
- Base north in Tucson. Marana, Dove Mountain and Oro Valley are closer to Phoenix than downtown Tucson is, and Tucson National is in the northwest suburbs.
- Play a stop on the way. Crooked Tree and Quarry Pines sit near I-10 in the northwest.
- Time it around spring training. The Cactus League runs late February through March in metro Phoenix, when Phoenix hotels and PHX flights are busier.
- Allow for traffic. The free-flow estimate is 121 minutes; crashes or construction between Chandler and Picacho often stretch it.
The Phoenix to Tucson drive guide plans a golf stop on I-10, and the Tucson golf weekend guide fits three rounds into a long weekend from Phoenix.
A checklist for pricing the Tucson vs Scottsdale golf question
To compare fairly, price the same things in both places for the same dates:
- The headline round. In Tucson, Starr Pass, Tucson National or Sewailo for public play; Ventana Canyon or Dove Mountain if you will stay at the resort.
- Access rules. Which courses need a room booking or a member.
- Resort fees and parking per night. In Tucson they ran from about $32 to $69 a night, and parking from free to $42 a day valet.
- Two value rounds. In Tucson, about $35 to $86 at the public courses above.
- Event weeks. In Tucson, the gem shows (about January 27 to February 14, 2027) are the biggest hotel crunch, and the Cologuard Classic is expected at La Paloma on March 18-21, 2027 (resale listings only).
- Flights. TUS against PHX for your home airport.
Our Tucson golf trip cost guide has the Tucson numbers in one place, and the Starr Pass course guide and Tucson National Catalina course guide cover two of the resort courses that sell public tee times.
Plan it on the map
Open the Tucson golf map to see every resort, course and hotel in this guide with drive times. The $30 plan builds a Tucson trip day by day, so you have a firm Tucson price to set against Scottsdale.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
Is Tucson or Scottsdale better for a golf trip?
This guide covers only Tucson's side, because our research does not include Scottsdale courses or prices. Tucson's strengths are resort golf in the desert foothills, two resorts that unlock otherwise private courses, and city and daily-fee courses that ran about $35 to $86 for 18 in October 2026. Price Scottsdale with the same checklist and compare.
How far is Tucson from Phoenix?
Phoenix Sky Harbor to downtown Tucson is about 121 minutes and 110.5 miles via I-10 on a free-flow estimate. Real times are often longer with Phoenix traffic and crashes or construction between Chandler and Picacho. Marana, Dove Mountain and Oro Valley are closer to Phoenix than downtown Tucson.
Can I combine Tucson golf with spring training?
Yes, but spring training is not in Tucson. The Cactus League is entirely in metro Phoenix from late February through March, about two hours north. A split stay or a long day trip covers both.
Do Tucson and Scottsdale share a time zone?
Yes. Arizona outside the Navajo Nation keeps Mountain Standard Time all year with no daylight saving, so Tucson and the Phoenix area use the same clock. From November to mid-March both are one hour ahead of California and Las Vegas.
Which Tucson golf resorts give access to private courses?
Loews Ventana Canyon and the Lodge at Ventana Canyon give guests access to the two Fazio courses at the Ventana Canyon club, and the Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain to the 27-hole Nicklaus course next door. Westin La Paloma guests have historically played the private La Paloma club, but the 2026 guest policy was not confirmed.
What is the best month to golf in Tucson?
March, with normal highs of 75.8F and 0.56 inches of rain at Tucson International, though it is peak price. November is a good-value alternative once the fall overseed is finished, at about 75F.
Can I fly into Tucson instead of Phoenix?
Yes. Tucson International has nonstops from cities including Chicago, Dallas/Fort Worth, Denver, Atlanta, Seattle and Las Vegas, and is about 17 minutes from downtown. It has no nonstop from Canada, so Canadians often fly into Phoenix and drive.
Keep reading
CoursesTucson golf courses: every course you can actually bookTucson golf courses side by side: which take public tee times, which are resort-guest or private only, yardage, slope, drive times and fees seen in 2026.7 min read
HotelsThe best golf resort in Tucson depends on the golfer: here is how to chooseThe best golf resort in Tucson for you: Omni for 36 holes, Starr Pass for central golf, Loews for Fazio, the Ritz for Nicklaus, Tubac for quiet golf.6 min read
PlanningFlights to Tucson for a golf trip: TUS or Phoenix, airlines and drive timesFlights to Tucson for golfers: which airlines fly nonstop to TUS, why Canadians land in Phoenix, drive times to each golf area and where to base on arrival.6 min read