Palm Springs golf resorts compared: La Quinta, JW Marriott, Westin, Omni and Indian Wells
Palm Springs golf resorts compared: the courses each unlocks, resort fees, guest booking perks and catches at La Quinta, JW Marriott, Westin and more.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Palm Springs golf resorts are mostly down valley, not in Palm Springs itself: La Quinta Resort, the JW Marriott Desert Springs in Palm Desert, the Westin and Omni in Rancho Mirage, and three hotels beside Indian Wells Golf Resort. The right one depends on which courses you want, because each resort unlocks a different set.
This guide compares the seven Palm Springs golf resorts, with the courses they give access to, the published resort fees, booking perks and the catches. Nightly room rates were not captured for any of them, so check the brand sites for your dates. Fees were seen in 2025-26 listings and change.
Quick facts
- Most golf from one base: La Quinta Resort & Club, five courses bookable 365 days out.
- Courses on site: JW Marriott (Palm and Valley), Westin (Pete Dye Resort Course), Omni (27 holes).
- Next door to a city-owned 36: Grand Hyatt, Renaissance Esmeralda and Tommy Bahama Miramonte at Indian Wells Golf Resort.
- Resort fees seen: about $40 (Westin) to $51.30 (JW Marriott) a night.
- No golf on site: the Ritz-Carlton Rancho Mirage, Agua Caliente and the downtown Palm Springs hotels.
- Fall overseed: every resort course closes for a few weeks, on rotation.
Palm Springs golf resorts side by side
| Resort | Town | Courses it unlocks | Resort fee seen | Nearest course |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| La Quinta Resort & Club | La Quinta | PGA West Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament, Greg Norman; Pete Dye Mountain and Dunes | $45.60 + parking | 3 min |
| JW Marriott Desert Springs | Palm Desert | Palm and Valley courses | $51.30 | on site |
| Westin Rancho Mirage | Rancho Mirage | Pete Dye Resort Course | $40 | next to the hotel |
| Omni Rancho Las Palmas | Rancho Mirage | 27-hole resort course | $50.94 | 4 min |
| Grand Hyatt Indian Wells | Indian Wells | Indian Wells Golf Resort, Players and Celebrity | $45 ($50 from Jan 1, 2027 bookings) | 2 min |
| Renaissance Esmeralda | Indian Wells | Indian Wells Golf Resort | not confirmed | 3 min |
| Tommy Bahama Miramonte | Indian Wells | Indian Wells Golf Resort | not published | 2 min |
Resort fees are from ResortFeeChecker and hotel policy pages in 2025-26; "nearest course" is the road drive in minutes from our map.
La Quinta Resort & Club
The valley's classic golf resort opened in 1926, with Spanish-style casitas spread around dozens of pools, Spa La Quinta and multi-bedroom villas for groups. Its guests can book five courses up to 365 days ahead through a resort-guest link: the PGA West Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament and Greg Norman, plus the Pete Dye Mountain and Pete Dye Dunes, which start at the resort. Bag storage is free.
That 365-day window is the main reason to stay. The Stadium is the valley's bucket-list public round, 7,300 yards at 75.8/148, and the public booking window is not published. Guest green fees are not published either. GolfNow showed Stadium times of roughly $110 to $165 in off-peak snapshots, and a third-party tracker estimated about $235 in peak season (seen November 2026; rates change).
The catches: a resort fee of $45.60 plus reported parking of $25 self or $30 valet adds about $70 a night before tax, and the PGA West courses are about 10 minutes' drive south, not a walk. Read La Quinta Resort golf and the PGA West Stadium Course guide.
JW Marriott Desert Springs
A big, central Palm Desert resort with two 18-hole courses, the Palm and the Valley, open to the public with hotel-guest preference. Desert Willow is 3 minutes away. It suits groups who want golf out the back door and Bonvoy points, and it is easy to book several rooms.
The trade-offs are a resort fee of $51.30 a night, the highest of the seven with a confirmed figure, and a conference-hotel feel. Guest green fees were not read. In fall, a Greenskeeper alert gave the Palm course a closure of October 26 to November 22, and GolfNow showed Valley tee times from November 3, so the Valley is the one to book in early November. For kitchens, Marriott's Desert Springs Villas sit next door. See Desert Springs golf.
Westin Rancho Mirage
The Westin, formerly the Westin Mission Hills, keeps the Pete Dye Resort Course next to the hotel, a par 70 rated 72.2/132 from the back with brand-new greens from a 2026 rebuild. It closed May 1 to August 27, 2026 for greens work and reopens from overseed November 3. Its booking page shows dynamic prices with no dollar amounts.
At $40 a night, its resort fee is the lowest confirmed figure among the seven, and one listing says it includes range balls and golf bag storage. Self-parking is listed at $15 plus tax per stay, rising to $23 for stays from April 1, 2026. The Gary Player course across the road is now run independently as Mission Hills - Gary Player, about 30 minutes on foot from the hotel. Some golf packages had blackouts in March and late April 2026. See Westin Rancho Mirage golf.
Omni Rancho Las Palmas
A comfortable Rancho Mirage resort with the Splashtopia water park, a spa and its own 27 holes, three nines played as 18-hole combinations. The Omni course is short and flat, 6,391 yards at 69.7/121 from the back, and suits higher handicappers. Reviews on condition and pace are mixed.
The status question matters. Omni announced a $12 million renovation for February to October 2026, but reviews show the course stayed open through 2026, and one listing says the work moved to March to December 1, 2027. GolfNow listed $56.48 to $81.49 for a June 17, 2026 tee time. The resort fee is about $51 a night. Confirm the course is open before you plan a golf stay here.
The Indian Wells three
Three resorts sit beside Indian Wells Golf Resort, the city-owned, Troon-managed Players and Celebrity courses. The Players was redesigned by John Fought and reopened in December 2025.
- Grand Hyatt Indian Wells: 531 keys, freshly renovated, with villas that suit groups and the HyTides water park. The $45 resort fee includes preferred tee times and discounted green fees at Indian Wells Golf Resort; it rises to $50 for bookings made on or after January 1, 2027.
- Renaissance Esmeralda: a walk from both courses and a stay-and-play partner. Packages through Troon Golf Vacations bundle rooms, a rental car and guaranteed tee times. Its resort fee was not confirmed.
- Tommy Bahama Miramonte: smaller and quieter. Guests book tee times with a discount code and charge golf to the room; the size of the discount is not stated.
The value alternative is the Indian Wells Resort Hotel, an older hotel with a free shuttle to the courses. A TeeTimesUSA package listed 3 nights and 3 rounds from $964 in September 2025. Read Indian Wells Golf Resort.
Fall overseed at the resort courses, 2026
| Course | Closed | Reopens |
|---|---|---|
| Pete Dye Dunes (La Quinta Resort) | September 28 | October 26 |
| PGA West Nicklaus Tournament | October 5 | November 2 |
| Westin Pete Dye Resort Course | fall overseed | November 3 |
| PGA West Stadium | October 12 | November 9 |
| Pete Dye Mountain (La Quinta Resort) | October 19 | November 16 |
| PGA West Greg Norman | November 9 | December 7 |
| JW Marriott Palm (year not stated) | October 26 | November 23 |
At the PGA West and La Quinta Resort courses, cart-path-only follows each reopening for about three weeks. Indian Wells Golf Resort published its 2026 dates only as an image, so call the course for them. See Palm Springs golf overseed.
Which of the Palm Springs golf resorts fits your trip
- Bucket-list buddies trip: La Quinta Resort, for the Stadium a year ahead.
- Group that wants to walk to the first tee: JW Marriott Desert Springs.
- Budget-minded resort group: the Westin, for the lowest confirmed resort fee and range balls in it.
- Couples: Tommy Bahama Miramonte or the Renaissance Esmeralda.
- Families: the Grand Hyatt or the Omni, with water parks.
The Ritz-Carlton Rancho Mirage is the valley's top luxury view hotel but has no golf, a $56.50 resort fee and $50 valet; it refers guests to the JW Marriott courses about 15 minutes away. For hotels without resort prices, read cheap hotels for Palm Springs golf and where to stay in Palm Springs for golf.
Course guides: PGA West Stadium course guide, Indian Wells Players course guide and Westin Pete Dye course guide.
Plan it on the map
Open the Palm Springs golf map to see every Palm Springs golf resort with the courses it unlocks and the drive to the rest. The $30 plan builds the trip around your resort's courses, with each round on the right day after overseed.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
What is the best golf resort in Palm Springs?
For the most golf from one base, La Quinta Resort & Club: its guests can book PGA West Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament and Greg Norman plus the Pete Dye Mountain and Dunes courses up to 365 days ahead. For two courses out the back door, the JW Marriott Desert Springs. For a smaller resort next to a city-owned 36, one of the four Indian Wells hotels.
Can La Quinta Resort guests book PGA West Stadium?
Yes. La Quinta Resort guests book the Stadium and four other resort courses through a separate resort-guest link up to 365 days in advance, and get complimentary bag storage. Guest green fees are not published; ask when you book the room. The PGA West courses are about 10 minutes' drive south of the hotel.
How much are resort fees at Palm Springs golf resorts?
From third-party trackers in 2025-26: about $40 a night at the Westin Rancho Mirage, $45 at the Grand Hyatt Indian Wells ($50 for bookings from January 1, 2027), $45.60 at La Quinta Resort, $50.94 at the Omni and $51.30 at the JW Marriott Desert Springs. La Quinta also reports paid parking, about $25 self and $30 valet.
Which Palm Springs resort includes golf perks in the resort fee?
The Grand Hyatt Indian Wells resort fee includes preferred tee times and discounted green fees at Indian Wells Golf Resort, per the hotel's policy page. The Westin Rancho Mirage fee includes range balls and golf bag storage, according to one listing. The Tommy Bahama Miramonte gives guests a discount code and room charging at Indian Wells Golf Resort.
Is the Omni Rancho Las Palmas golf course open?
It appears so. Omni announced a renovation for February to October 2026, but reviews show the course stayed open through 2026, and one listing says the renovation moved to March to December 1, 2027. Confirm the course is open before you book a golf stay there.
Do Palm Springs golf resorts publish nightly rates?
Not in a form that could be compared here. Resort rates were not read from the booking engines on November 2, 2026, and vary sharply by season. A Travelocity snapshot showed $384 a night at the Renaissance Esmeralda for an unknown date. Check the brand sites for your dates.
When are Palm Springs golf resort courses closed?
Each fall for overseed, on rotation. In 2026 the Pete Dye Dunes reopened October 26, the Westin's Pete Dye course November 3, PGA West Stadium November 9 and the Mountain course November 16. A Greenskeeper alert put the JW Marriott Palm course's reopening at November 23.
Keep reading
CoursesThe best golf courses in Palm Springs you can book, rankedThe best golf courses in Palm Springs you can book, ranked: PGA WEST, Desert Willow, Indian Wells and more, with slopes, fees seen and the trade-offs.7 min read
PlanningPalm Springs golf rates: green fees by season, course by coursePalm Springs golf rates course by course: peak, shoulder and summer green fees seen in 2026 for PGA West, Desert Willow, Indian Canyons, Escena and more.7 min read
SeasonsPalm Springs golf overseed: 2026 fall closures course by course, and how to plan around themPalm Springs golf overseed dates for fall 2026, course by course: closures, reopenings, cart-path-only weeks, staggered pairs and courses that stay open.7 min read