public · Indian Wells, CA · 18 holes
Indian Wells Golf Resort - Players Course
Freshly redesigned by John Fought and reopened in December 2025, the city-owned Players is the most complete public test in Indian Wells, and it sits next to four resort hotels. Check rates before booking: the resort does not publish them.
Tees, rating and slope
| Tee | Yards | Men | Women |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cabernet | 7,376 | 75.3 / 139 | – |
| Blue | 6,913 | 73.3 / 134 | – |
| Orange | 6,538 | 71.7 / 129 | – |
| Yellow | 6,326 | 70.6 / 126 | – |
| White | 6,006 | 69.2 / 123 | – |
| Green | 5,636 | 67.7 / 117 | 74.0 / 127 |
| Red | 5,108 | 65.2 / 110 | 71.3 / 122 |
Course rating / slope, USGA Course Rating database where available.
Green fees
| Peak | No published rate card. GolfLink estimate $299; a 2025 GolfPass reviewer reported paying $227 (pre-renovation). |
|---|---|
| Locals | Indian Wells Resident Benefit Card rates vary seasonally (resort page). City benefits page (403 to fetch; seen via search, season year not stated): $50 Jan 1-Apr 30, $35 May 1-Dec 31; accompanied resident guest $55 Mon-Thu / $65 Fri-Sun in a Jul-Aug window. |
Search snippets of cityofindianwells.org and golflink.com seen 2026-11-02; no 2026-27 rate card found.
Before you book
| Access | City of Indian Wells-owned 36-hole facility, Troon-managed, open to the public. Indian Wells residents with a Resident Benefit Card (or Property Owner ID) book discounted resident times online up to 14.5 days ahead from 7 pm; resident guests must be accompanied. Four Indian Wells resort hotels (Hyatt, Renaissance, Miramonte, Indian Wells Resort Hotel) sit within walking distance and sell Stay & Play packages; no separate published hotel-guest green fee was found. |
|---|---|
| Book ahead | Residents: online up to 14.5 days ahead, opening 7 pm, prepaid, 72-hour cancellation (resident-times page). Public window not published. |
| Overseed / closures | 2026 dates are published only as an image on the resort site and were not readable. Historic pattern: one course closed at a time (2022: Players reopened Oct 13, Celebrity closed Oct 16-Nov 3). Call 760-346-4653. |
| Designer | John Fought (2007 rebuild of Ted Robinson's 1986 West course; Fought again for the 2025 redesign) |
| Opened | 2007 |
| Style | Desert resort course on the valley floor with water, wide-ish fairways and mountain views; the tougher of the two ('the Beast'). |
| Practice | Practice facility shared with the Celebrity Course. |
| Drive from downtown Palm Springs | 29 min (16.3 mi) |
| Phone | 760-346-4653 |
| Address | 44-500 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, CA 92210 |
Local knowledge
- Post-renovation par is 71; scorecards on GolfPass and elsewhere still show the old par-72 routing, so expect new yardages and ratings.
- Stay at one of the four Indian Wells resort hotels next door and you can walk or shuttle to the first tee; the Indian Wells Resort Hotel listing advertises a complimentary shuttle through Dec 31, 2026.
- Host of the Epson Tour Championship (scheduled on the Players Course in 2026).
Recognition
- Golfweek Top 25 Best Municipal Courses in the US (both courses; per resort site, year not stated)
- Golf Magazine California ranking #16 (per resort site, year not stated)
Closest golf hotels
- Grand Hyatt Indian Wells Resort & Villas — 2 min, 0.4 mi
- Tommy Bahama Miramonte Resort & Spa — 2 min, 0.3 mi
- Indian Wells Resort Hotel — 2 min, 0.4 mi
Questions golfers ask
How much does it cost to play Indian Wells Golf Resort - Players Course?
Green fees we have seen range from $227–$299, depending on season and time of day. Peak season: No published rate card. GolfLink estimate $299; a 2025 GolfPass reviewer reported paying $227 (pre-renovation).
When is Indian Wells Golf Resort - Players Course closed for overseeding?
The latest published closure is Oct 16 – Nov 3. 2026 dates are published only as an image on the resort site and were not readable. Historic pattern: one course closed at a time (2022: Players reopened Oct 13, Celebrity closed Oct 16-Nov 3). Call 760-346-4653.
How hard is Indian Wells Golf Resort - Players Course?
From the back tees it measures 7,376 yards with a course rating of 75.3 and a slope of 139.
How far ahead can you book Indian Wells Golf Resort - Players Course?
Residents: online up to 14.5 days ahead, opening 7 pm, prepaid, 72-hour cancellation (resident-times page). Public window not published.
How far is Indian Wells Golf Resort - Players Course from Palm Springs?
About 29 minutes (16.3 miles) by road from downtown Palm Springs in light traffic.
Guides that feature Indian Wells Golf Resort · Players
- The best golf courses in Palm Springs you can book, ranked
- Canadian snowbirds in Palm Springs: flights, the drive south, stay limits and a winter of golf
- Cheap hotels for Palm Springs golf: value bases near the courses
- Coachella Valley golf from Desert Hot Springs to Indio
- Indian Wells Golf Resort: Players vs Celebrity, the redesign and rates
- Indian Wells golf: the city's two courses, the hotels next door and the private clubs