Indian Wells golf: the city's two courses, the hotels next door and the private clubs
Indian Wells golf explained: the redesigned Players and the Celebrity, resident rates, the four hotels next to the first tee and the eight private clubs.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Indian Wells golf for visitors means Indian Wells Golf Resort: two city-owned, Troon-managed courses, the freshly redesigned Players and the friendlier Celebrity, with four resort hotels within walking distance. The town's other eight clubs, from The Vintage Club to Toscana, are private.
Indian Wells is 29 minutes from downtown Palm Springs, free-flow, between Palm Desert and La Quinta. This guide covers the two courses, how residents and hotel guests book, the private clubs and the tennis fortnight that moves every price in town.
Quick facts
- Bookable: 2 courses, 36 holes. Private: 8 clubs.
- Owner: City of Indian Wells; managed by Troon.
- New: the Players reopened in December 2025 after a John Fought redesign, now par 71.
- Rates: no public rate card; the Celebrity is listed from $149 (undated).
- Residents: Resident Benefit Card rates and a 14.5-day booking window.
- Big event: BNP Paribas Open, February 28 to March 14, 2027.
Players vs Celebrity
| Players | Celebrity | |
|---|---|---|
| Designer | John Fought (2007 rebuild, 2025 redesign) | Clive Clark (2006 rebuild) |
| Par | 71 | 72 |
| Back tees | Cabernet 7,376 (75.3/139) | Cabernet 7,038 (74.3/138) |
| Middle tees | Orange 6,538 (71.7/129) | Yellow 6,339 (70.7/128) |
| Forward, women | Red 5,108 (71.3/122) | Red 5,280 (71.7/128) |
| Character | longer and harder, "the Beast" | lakes and waterfalls, "the Beauty" |
| Fee seen | not published; GolfLink estimate $299 | from $149 (GolfPass, undated) |
The Players figures come from listings, and scorecards on some sites still show the old par-72 routing, so expect new yardages and ratings. Both courses grew out of Ted Robinson's 1986 East and West courses.
The Players Course
The Players is a desert course on the valley floor with water, fairly wide fairways and mountain views. The 2025 redesign rerouted holes 9, 17 and 18, built a new 17th and 18th north of the Whitewater Wash and redid the bunkers, tees and greens. The resort cites a Golf Magazine California ranking of 16th and a Golfweek Top 25 Best Municipal Courses listing for both courses (years not stated). The Epson Tour Championship was scheduled on the Players in 2026.
It is the most complete public test in Indian Wells, but price it before you commit: no rate card is published, and the only figures are a GolfLink estimate of $299 and a 2025 reviewer's $227 before the renovation. See the Players course guide.
The Celebrity Course
The Celebrity is the prettier, more forgiving half of the pair, with lakes, waterfalls and flower beds. GolfPass reviewers rate it 4.6 out of 5 from 522 reviews, and the resort cites a Golf Magazine California ranking of 30th (year not stated). It is the better first round for couples, mixed groups and anyone based at the hotels next door. See the Celebrity course guide.
Both courses share a 53,000-square-foot clubhouse with the Vue Grille, a pro shop and the practice facility. Our Indian Wells Golf Resort guide goes deeper on the two.
Overseed at Indian Wells
The resort publishes its 2026 overseed dates only as an image, which we could not read. The historic pattern is one course closed at a time: in 2022 the Players reopened October 13 and the Celebrity closed October 16 to November 3. Call 760-346-4653 before booking October or early November golf. See Palm Springs golf overseed.
Resident rates and the Resident Benefit Card
Indian Wells residents with a Resident Benefit Card or Property Owner ID book discounted times online up to 14.5 days ahead, opening at 7 PM, prepaid, with 72-hour cancellation. Resident booking moved fully online from June 1, 2026.
| Rate | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Resident, Jan 1 to Apr 30 | $50 | city page, season year not stated |
| Resident, May 1 to Dec 31 | $35 | same |
| Accompanied resident guest | $55 Mon-Thu, $65 Fri-Sun | a July-August window |
| Card | $45-$50 | sources differ |
Resident guests must be accompanied. For snowbirds, Indian Wells seasonal rentals are 3 minutes from the courses, and the city's card policy mentions renters obtaining a card, but the documents and lease length needed were not found. Ask City Hall before you sign. See Palm Springs snowbird rentals.
The hotels next door
Four hotels sit beside Indian Wells Golf Resort and sell Stay & Play packages. No separate hotel-guest green fee was published.
| Hotel | To the first tee | Golf perk |
|---|---|---|
| Grand Hyatt Indian Wells | 2 min | resort fee covers preferred tee times and discounted green fees (amount not published) |
| Tommy Bahama Miramonte | 2 min | discount code for tee times; golf charged to the room |
| Indian Wells Resort Hotel | 2 min | complimentary shuttle through December 31, 2026 |
| Renaissance Esmeralda | 3 min | stay-and-play partner; discount not published |
Room rates were not read for 2026. A Travelocity snapshot showed $384 a night at the Renaissance (stay date unknown), and past guest prices at the Indian Wells Resort Hotel ran about $112 to $224 (not a 2026 quote). For cheaper rooms, the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert on Highway 111 is 4 minutes from the courses. Compare in Palm Springs golf resorts.
Private clubs in Indian Wells
Eight Indian Wells clubs are private:
- Toscana North and South: two Jack Nicklaus courses in a private club community; members and guests only. Prospective buyers can schedule a tour.
- The Vintage Club Mountain and Desert: a private membership club; members and guests only.
- Indian Wells Country Club, Eldorado, The Reserve Club and Desert Horizons: private country clubs for members and their guests; guest, reciprocal and rental-guest policies were not checked.
None of the eight has a published route for visitors. See private golf clubs in Palm Springs.
Indian Wells golf and the BNP Paribas Open
The BNP Paribas Open fills the Indian Wells Tennis Garden for two weeks, February 28 to March 14, 2027 per Visit Greater Palm Springs. It lands in the middle of peak golf season, so Indian Wells, Palm Desert and La Quinta hotels run their highest rates and Washington Street, Highway 111 and Miles Avenue around the Tennis Garden are congested. If your dates are flexible, Indian Wells golf in January, early February or late March avoids it. See Palm Springs events.
Pairing Indian Wells with its neighbours
Indian Wells sits between two bigger golf towns: Palm Desert's 14 bookable courses are a short drive west, and La Quinta's PGA WEST and resort courses a short drive south-east. Read Palm Desert golf courses and La Quinta golf courses to build a week around an Indian Wells hotel.
Plan it on the map
Open the Palm Springs golf map to see Indian Wells golf, the hotels a two-minute walk or shuttle from the first tee and the private clubs around them. The $30 plan can base a trip or a whole winter in Indian Wells with a weekly rotation of nearby courses.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
How many Indian Wells golf courses are open to the public?
Two: the Players and Celebrity courses at Indian Wells Golf Resort, owned by the City of Indian Wells and managed by Troon. The other eight Indian Wells clubs on our map, including The Vintage Club and Toscana, are private.
What changed at the Indian Wells Players Course?
John Fought redesigned it and it reopened in December 2025. Holes 9, 17 and 18 were rerouted, with new 17th and 18th holes north of the Whitewater Wash, and bunkers, tees and greens were redone. Par dropped from 72 to 71.
How much does it cost to play Indian Wells Golf Resort?
No rate card is published. A GolfLink estimate puts the Players at $299 and a 2025 reviewer paid $227 before the renovation. GolfPass lists the Celebrity from $149 (undated).
What are the Indian Wells resident golf rates?
The city's benefits page, seen via search with no season year stated, lists $50 from January 1 to April 30 and $35 from May 1 to December 31 for Resident Benefit Card holders. Residents book online up to 14.5 days ahead from 7 PM, prepaid, with 72-hour cancellation.
Can renters get the Indian Wells Resident Benefit Card?
The city's card policy mentions renters obtaining a card, but the documents and lease length needed were not found. Ask City Hall before you sign a winter lease.
Which Indian Wells hotels are closest to the golf?
The Grand Hyatt, Tommy Bahama Miramonte and Indian Wells Resort Hotel are about 2 minutes from Indian Wells Golf Resort and the Renaissance Esmeralda about 3. The Grand Hyatt's resort fee covers preferred tee times and discounted green fees; the discount is not published.
When is the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells?
February 28 to March 14, 2027, per Visit Greater Palm Springs; some listings say March 1-14. It brings two weeks of crowds to the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in peak golf season, with the highest hotel rates in Indian Wells, Palm Desert and La Quinta.
Keep reading
CoursesIndian Wells Golf Resort: Players vs Celebrity, the redesign and ratesIndian Wells Golf Resort: the redesigned Players Course vs the Celebrity, resident rates, hotel guest perks next door, published rates and how to book.6 min read
SeasonsPalm Springs events for golfers: the 2026-27 dates that move pricesPalm Springs events for 2026-27: The American Express, BNP Paribas Open, Coachella, Stagecoach, Modernism Week and Pride, with dates and the effect on golf.6 min read
HotelsPalm Springs golf resorts compared: La Quinta, JW Marriott, Westin, Omni and Indian WellsPalm Springs golf resorts compared: the courses each unlocks, resort fees, guest booking perks and catches at La Quinta, JW Marriott, Westin and more.7 min read