La Quinta golf courses: which you can book and which are private
La Quinta golf courses explained: five PGA WEST resort courses, SilverRock, Trilogy and 14 private clubs, with tees, fees seen, overseed and where to stay.
Open the 3D map of every course →
La Quinta golf courses you can book number seven: the three PGA WEST tournament-side courses, the two Pete Dye courses at La Quinta Resort, the city-owned SilverRock and Trilogy. Fourteen more La Quinta clubs, including four PGA WEST courses, are private. La Quinta is 35 to 47 minutes from downtown Palm Springs, so groups who want this golf usually stay here.
This guide sorts the public, resort and private courses, with 2026 overseed dates and the fees seen for each round. Fees change by date.
Quick facts
- Bookable: 7 courses. Private: 14 clubs.
- The headline: the PGA WEST Stadium Course, host of The American Express (January 21-24, 2027).
- Resort-guest edge: La Quinta Resort & Club guests book the five resort courses up to 365 days ahead.
- City course: SilverRock, with a separate resident tee sheet.
- Winter mornings: a January normal low of 39.0F at nearby Thermal.
- Drive: 35 to 47 minutes from downtown Palm Springs, free-flow.
La Quinta golf courses you can book
| Course | Back tees (yds, rating/slope) | Fee seen | 2026 overseed | Drive |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pete Dye Mountain | 6,666 (72.9/135) | no reliable rate found | Oct 19 to Nov 16 | 35 min |
| Pete Dye Dunes | 6,578 (72.4/134) | from $56 (GolfPass, undated) | Sep 28 to Oct 26 | 35 min |
| SilverRock | 7,239 (not rated) | dynamic, no card | Oct 12 to Oct 30 | 38 min |
| PGA WEST Stadium | 7,300 (75.8/148) | about $235 Jan-Apr (tracker) | Oct 12 to Nov 9 | 39 min |
| PGA WEST Nicklaus Tournament | 7,204 (75.3/143) | about $195 Jan-Apr (tracker) | Oct 5 to Nov 2 | 39 min |
| PGA WEST Greg Norman | 7,156 (75.1/139) | about $155 Jan-Apr (tracker) | Nov 9 to Dec 7 | 40 min |
| Trilogy La Quinta | not published | not published | not published | 47 min |
For the La Quinta golf courses above, overseed dates are the closing and reopening dates from the PGA WEST 2026 schedule and silverrock.org. "Tracker" figures are user-contributed estimates seen in April 2026. Each reopening brings about three weeks of cart path only.
PGA WEST: Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament and Norman
These three play from the PGA WEST side of La Quinta, about 10 minutes' drive south of La Quinta Resort. All three sell public tee times through the PGA WEST tee sheet and GolfNow.
- Stadium: Pete and Alice Dye's 1986 course, with the island-green 17th and a 16th greenside bunker about 19 feet deep. All 18 greens were rebuilt in a restoration finished in November 2024.
- Nicklaus Tournament: the Stadium's American Express co-host from the same clubhouse, fairer and usually cheaper, with a summer estimate of about $80. See the Nicklaus Tournament course guide.
- Greg Norman: native desert scrub and waste areas from its own clubhouse on Kingston Heath, usually the cheapest of the three, and the last to overseed.
Our PGA WEST golf guide compares the three in detail, and the PGA WEST Stadium Course guide covers the island 17th and the tees.
The Pete Dye courses at La Quinta Resort
The Mountain and Dunes courses are both Pete Dye designs from 1981 and play from the Pete Dye Clubhouse at La Quinta Resort & Club, 3 minutes from the rooms. They are now marketed under PGA WEST, though many golfers still call them the La Quinta Resort courses.
- Mountain: built against the Santa Rosa Mountains with rock outcrops, desert edges and small greens. Shorter and more scenic than the tournament courses, and walkable from the resort. See the Mountain course guide.
- Dunes: a desert links-style course with mounded fairways and pot bunkers. Often the lowest-priced PGA WEST resort time on GolfNow, and first back from overseed in 2026.
More in La Quinta Resort golf.
SilverRock: the city's Palmer course
SilverRock's Arnold Palmer Classic Course is owned by the City of La Quinta and sits below the Santa Rosa Mountains with lakes and native rock. Its back nine was closed from May 18 to August 28, 2026 for a turf renovation, so expect fresh turf, and it is cart path only until November 24, 2026 after overseed.
Next door, the resort land was acquired out of bankruptcy in December 2025, and a new partner plans a hotel, spa, conference centre, permanent clubhouse and residences. For now the course uses a temporary clubhouse, and the course site warns that construction may interrupt views on some holes. See the SilverRock course guide and our SilverRock golf guide.
Trilogy
Trilogy is the course in the Shea Homes 55+ community at the south end of La Quinta, 47 minutes from downtown Palm Springs. Its tee sheet takes residents 32 days ahead and non-residents 30 days ahead, so outside golfers can book. Rates, tees and 2026 overseed dates are not published; its sheet lists a full-course aeration closure from July 27 to August 2, year not stated.
Private La Quinta golf courses
Fourteen La Quinta golf courses are private:
- PGA WEST private courses: Palmer, Nicklaus Private, Weiskopf and the Pete Dye Citrus Club. Members only; you play as a member's guest. La Quinta Resort guests cannot book them.
- Rancho La Quinta: the Robert Trent Jones Jr. and Jerry Pate courses, for golf members and their guests; public play is not offered.
- Members and their guests: The Madison Club, The Hideaway Pete Dye and Clive Clark courses, The Quarry, Tradition, Andalusia, La Quinta Country Club and Mountain View Country Club. Guest, reciprocal and rental-guest policies were not checked for these.
La Quinta Country Club is the third host course of The American Express, with the Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament. See private golf clubs in Palm Springs.
Where to stay for La Quinta golf
- La Quinta Resort & Club: the 365-day booking window on the five resort courses, complimentary bag storage and Stay & Play packages (no prices shown). A third-party tracker put the resort fee at $45.60 per room per night.
- Embassy Suites La Quinta: 4 minutes from the Mountain and Dunes and 6 from SilverRock; an AAA listing showed from $148 (date not stated).
- PGA WEST rentals: homes and condos a minute from the Stadium. Golf is not automatically included, and one listing says guests may not use the course without a tee time arranged with PGA WEST. La Quinta treats rentals of 30 days or fewer as short-term rentals that need a city permit.
- Lake Cahuilla: a county campground 19 minutes from the Norman; third-party listings give full hookups at $45 a night and a 14-day limit in any 28 days.
More in Palm Springs golf vacation rentals.
Timing a La Quinta trip
The American Express (January 21-24, 2027) closes the Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament for tournament week and setup and fills La Quinta hotels. The BNP Paribas Open in neighbouring Indian Wells (February 28 to March 14, 2027 per Visit Greater Palm Springs) and the Coachella and Stagecoach weekends in Indio in April push room rates up. In fall, the Dunes and Nicklaus Tournament are the first PGA WEST courses back. See Palm Springs events, and for the cheaper courses just east, Indio golf courses.
Plan it on the map
Open the Palm Springs golf map to see the La Quinta golf courses, which are private, their overseed windows and the stays a few minutes away. The $30 plan puts each PGA WEST round on a day it is open, or builds a winter around a La Quinta base.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
How many La Quinta golf courses are open to the public?
Seven on our map: the PGA WEST Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament and Greg Norman courses, the Pete Dye Mountain and Dunes courses at La Quinta Resort, the city's SilverRock and Trilogy, which takes non-resident bookings 30 days ahead. Fourteen more La Quinta clubs are private.
Are the La Quinta Resort courses the same as PGA WEST?
They are now sold together. The Mountain and Dunes courses, both 1981 Pete Dye designs that start at La Quinta Resort, are marketed as PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain and Dunes. Resort guests can book all five resort courses up to 365 days ahead.
Can the public play the private PGA WEST courses?
No. The Palmer, Nicklaus Private, Weiskopf and Citrus Club courses are members only, booked through the PGA WEST member site. They are not bookable by the public or by La Quinta Resort hotel guests; you play them as a member's guest.
Which La Quinta course is cheapest?
Among the PGA WEST resort courses, the Pete Dye Dunes is often the lowest-priced tee time on GolfNow, with GolfPass listing it from $56 (undated). A user-contributed tracker estimated the Greg Norman at about $155 and the Stadium at about $235 from January to April. SilverRock uses dynamic pricing with no published card.
When do the La Quinta courses reopen from overseed in 2026?
Per the PGA WEST schedule, the Dunes reopened October 26, the Nicklaus Tournament November 2, the Stadium November 9 and the Mountain November 16. The Greg Norman closes November 9 and reopens December 7. SilverRock reopened October 30.
Does La Quinta have resident golf rates?
At SilverRock, La Quinta Resident Card holders book on a separate resident tee sheet with resident rates; the amounts are not published. Non-residents book on TeeItUp, with prepayment required.
Is La Quinta cold in winter for golf?
Mornings are. The Thermal station near La Quinta has a January normal low of 39.0F, against 47.6F at Palm Springs airport, so frost delays are more common at this end of the valley. Afternoon highs are about the same, near 71F.
Keep reading
CoursesLa Quinta Resort golf: the Pete Dye Mountain and Dunes coursesLa Quinta Resort golf explained: the Pete Dye Mountain and Dunes, now sold under PGA WEST, guest booking a year out, 2026 overseed dates and rates.7 min read
SeasonsPalm Springs golf overseed: 2026 fall closures course by course, and how to plan around themPalm Springs golf overseed dates for fall 2026, course by course: closures, reopenings, cart-path-only weeks, staggered pairs and courses that stay open.7 min read
CoursesPGA West golf: which of the three public courses to play, and how to book themPGA West golf compared: the Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament and Greg Norman courses, with access, tees, rates seen, 2026 overseed and which suits your group.6 min read