Legends golf in Myrtle Beach: the three courses and the villas
Legends golf in Myrtle Beach: Heathland, Moorland and Parkland compared, with tees, slopes, the on-site villas, how booking works and which rates exist.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Legends golf in Myrtle Beach is a 54-hole resort off US 501 with three very different public courses: Tom Doak's open, links-style Heathland, P.B. Dye's hard Moorland and Larry Young's tree-lined Parkland, plus on-site villas. No public green fees were published in November 2026; most golfers buy it as a stay-and-play package. It is about 24 minutes from the SkyWheel.
The point of Legends is that you can sleep, eat and play 36 or 54 holes a day without moving the car. The trade is that you are inland, away from the beach and evening life. This guide compares the three courses, the villas and how booking works, using only what the published sources say.
Quick facts
- Courses: Heathland (Tom Doak, 1990), Moorland (P.B. Dye, 1990), Parkland (Larry Young, 1992), plus the Piper par-3 course.
- Access: public resort courses; heavily package-driven.
- Address: 1500 Legends Dr, Myrtle Beach, off US 501.
- Stay: 2- and 3-bedroom villas on site with full kitchens.
- Rates: no public green fees found in November 2026; packages from $505 seen on Golfbreaks, terms not stated.
- Drive: 24 to 25 minutes from the SkyWheel.
- Greens: Champion bermuda on Heathland and Moorland (GolfPass).
Legends golf Myrtle Beach: the three courses compared
| Course | Designer, year | Par | Back tees (yds, rating/slope) | Drive from SkyWheel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heathland | Tom Doak, 1990 | 71 | 6,800 (72.8/131) | 24 min |
| Moorland | P.B. Dye, 1990 | 72 | 6,755 (74.0/140) | 25 min |
| Parkland | Larry Young, 1992 | 72 | 7,091 (74.3/144) | 24 min |
Drive times are routed estimates to each course without traffic. Tee data is from GolfPass for Heathland and Moorland and from myrtlebeachgolf.com for Parkland; GolfLink lists Parkland's back tees at 7,170 yards and 74.3/131, so the slope is disputed.
Heathland
Heathland was one of Tom Doak's early designs: a treeless, links-style course with pot bunkers and firm, open ground, often exposed to the wind. Nothing else on the Grand Strand looks quite like it, which is why it is worth a round if your group is tired of pine-lined resort golf.
| Heathland tee | Yards | Rating / slope |
|---|---|---|
| Blue (men) | 6,800 | 72.8 / 131 |
| White (men) | 6,355 | 70.0 / 127 |
| Green (men) | 5,903 | 68.6 / 123 |
| Red (women) | 4,904 | 71.0 / 121 |
A Black tee at 6,853 yards appears on the GolfPass scorecard without a rating. See the Heathland course guide.
Moorland
Moorland is the brute: a P.B. Dye course with deep bunkers, big mounding and severe greens. It is the hardest of the three, and reviewers are split on the greens. A superintendent quoted on playgolfmyrtlebeach.com said the bunkers were rebuilt with the steep faces removed and flatter bottoms, but the date was not confirmed.
Tees: Blue 6,755 (74.0/140), White 6,203 (71.3/133), Green 5,595 (listed as 71.3/129, which looks like a women's rating labelled men's) and Red 4,811 (women, 72.8/121). Low handicappers will enjoy it; higher handicaps will have more fun on Parkland or Heathland. See the Moorland course guide.
Parkland
Parkland is the longest Legends course and the most playable full-length one: tree-lined, with big greens. A 2017 bunker renovation removed nearly a third of its 110-plus bunkers. Only the back-tee line was found, at 7,091 yards and 74.3/144 on myrtlebeachgolf.com.
It is also the most reviewed. On myrtlebeachgolf.com it scored 4.39 out of 5 from 1,378 golfer reviews, with reviews in July, September and October 2026 (one in October: "Course was in great condition"). One April 2026 note said it was too crowded, and a September 2026 reviewer hit greens on the day they were topdressed, so ask about maintenance days in late summer. See the Parkland course guide.
How booking Legends golf in Myrtle Beach works
Legends is built around stay-and-play. The villas are sold with rounds on the three courses, and myrtlebeachgolf.com books Legends through a Golfmaster rather than its live tee sheet. In practice, that means:
- For a package: ask Legends or a package seller for a quote covering villas and rounds. Golfbreaks showed packages from $505 including all taxes and resort fees, but the listing did not state nights, rounds or dates, so do not budget off that figure.
- For a single round: call the resort. No public green fees were found in November 2026, and no booking window was published.
- From the North Strand: the golf desk at North Beach Plantation builds packages with several partner groups and names Legends among them. Avista Resort has run an "Ultimate Legends Stay and Play" package through Play Golf Myrtle Beach; the details were not loaded.
Reviewers report cart shortages and course swaps among the three Legends courses on busy days. If your group is set on Heathland, get it in writing. Our guide to Myrtle Beach golf packages explains how packages compare with booking direct.
The Legends villas
The Legends Golf & Resort villas sit around the Parkland course. What the listings say:
- Units: 2- and 3-bedroom villas (Golfbreaks lists a 2-bed, 2-bath layout), with full kitchens, living and dining areas, washer and dryer, and course-view balconies.
- On site: outdoor pool and hot tub, the Ailsa Pub, a clubhouse snack bar, a large practice area and golf academy, free parking.
- Times: check-in 4:00 PM, check-out 11:00 AM.
- Rates: check rates; none were published for November 2026.
The villas suit groups of four to six golfers. Moorland is about 3 minutes from the villas and Parkland about 5; Heathland routes at about 18 minutes from the villa pin, so check the resort map for the shortest way. The watch-out is evenings: the beach is 15 to 20 minutes east and there is little to walk to. For more golf villa options, read Myrtle Beach golf condos, and for how Legends compares with Barefoot and Grande Dunes, see Myrtle Beach golf resorts.
Courses near Legends
If you base at the villas and want a change from the three home courses, the nearest public options on our map are:
| Course | From Legends villas | Back tees (yds, rating/slope) | Rate seen |
|---|---|---|---|
| Burning Ridge | 15 min | 6,780 (73.9/137) | $114 AM package / $119 AM direct, Sat May 2 spring chart (Jan 2026) |
| King's North | 19 min | 7,017 (74.2/137) | $210 AM package / $214 AM direct, Sat May 2 spring chart (Jan 2026) |
Both spring figures come from a Coastal Golfaway chart published January 9, 2026. King's North and its two sister courses are covered in our Myrtle Beach National golf guide, and the rest of the inland corridor in Carolina Forest golf.
Winter at Legends
The overseed policy for the three Legends courses was not published, and no aerification dates were found. Heathland and Moorland have Champion bermuda greens per GolfPass; Parkland's grass was not listed. If you are coming between December and February, ask the resort what the fairways will look like. Our guide to Myrtle Beach golf winter conditions explains what dormant bermuda means for your round.
Is Legends golf in Myrtle Beach right for your group?
- Yes, if: you want 36 holes a day, villas with kitchens and no driving between rounds, and a mix of styles from links to parkland.
- Maybe not, if: the beach, bars and restaurants matter after golf, or you want firm prices up front without a package quote.
- Best single round: Heathland for something different, Parkland for a safe, well-reviewed 18.
For a big group, our Myrtle Beach buddies golf trip guide covers tee-time blocks and lodging.
Plan it on the map
Open the Myrtle Beach golf map to see Heathland, Moorland and Parkland, the Legends villas and the inland courses around them, with drive times to each. The $30 plan builds a Legends-based trip day by day, mixing the home courses with the best rounds nearby.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
How many courses are at Legends in Myrtle Beach?
Legends Golf & Resort has 54 holes on site: Heathland by Tom Doak, Moorland by P.B. Dye and Parkland by Larry Young. There is also the Piper par-3 course. The resort sits at 1500 Legends Dr off US 501.
Can you play Legends without staying there?
The three courses are public resort courses, so a stay is not required. They are heavily sold in stay-and-play packages, though, and myrtlebeachgolf.com books them through a Golfmaster rather than its live tee sheet. Call the resort or a package seller for a single round.
Which Legends course is hardest?
Moorland, P.B. Dye's course, rates 74.0 with a 140 slope from its 6,755-yard Blue tees and has deep bunkers and severe greens. Parkland is longer at 7,091 yards with a 144 slope listed on myrtlebeachgolf.com, but GolfLink lists a 131 slope, so sources conflict. Heathland is the gentlest at 72.8/131.
How much does golf at Legends cost?
No dollar green fees for the three Legends courses were found in public sources read in November 2026. Golfbreaks showed Legends stay-and-play packages from $505 including taxes and resort fees, but did not say how many nights, rounds or which dates. Ask for a quote.
What are the Legends villas like?
Two- and three-bedroom villas around the Parkland course with full kitchens, washer and dryer, and course-view balconies. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub, free parking, the Ailsa Pub and a clubhouse snack bar. Check-in is 4 PM and check-out 11 AM.
How far is Legends from the beach?
The resort is inland; the beach is about 15 to 20 minutes east. By our routed estimate the courses are 24 to 25 minutes from the SkyWheel without traffic. Carolina Forest and the US 501 chain restaurants are about 10 minutes away.
Do the Legends courses overseed?
The overseed policy for Heathland, Moorland and Parkland was not published. Heathland and Moorland have Champion bermuda greens per GolfPass. Call the resort before a December to February trip to ask what the fairways will look like.
Keep reading
AreasCarolina Forest golf: the US 501 corridor and Conway coursesCarolina Forest golf on US 501: Myrtle Beach National, Legends, Man O' War, World Tour, Wild Wing and the Conway courses, with 2026 rates and drive times.7 min read
ItinerariesMyrtle Beach buddies golf trip: villas, group tee times and the budgetPlan a Myrtle Beach buddies golf trip for 8 to 20 golfers: villas that sleep the group, group discounts, tee-time and cancellation rules, budget, nights out.6 min read
CoursesMan O' War golf in Myrtle Beach, The Wizard next door, and what happened to The WitchMan O' War golf in Myrtle Beach: island greens, The Wizard next door, fees seen in 2026, tees and slopes, and why The Witch closed in November 2021.6 min read