Lie of the LandMyrtle Beach & the Grand Strand
Courses

Myrtle Beach National golf: King's North, SouthCreek and West compared

Myrtle Beach National golf compared: the renovated King's North, SouthCreek and the West Course, with tees, 2026 package and direct rates and how to book.

7 min readChecked Nov 2, 2026
Open the 3D map of every course →
Drawn hole routing: Myrtle Beach National golf: King's North, SouthCreek and West compared

Myrtle Beach National golf means three public Arnold Palmer courses on one property off US 501: King's North, the marquee 18 with new greens; SouthCreek, short and tight; and the West, open and forgiving. A May 2026 Saturday morning ran about $107 to $214 per round depending on the course, package or booked direct (per a January 2026 rate chart). It is about 19 minutes from the SkyWheel.

All three opened in 1973 and are owned by Founders Group International, so you can book them together, mix them with Founders courses elsewhere on the Strand, or buy them through a package seller. This guide compares the three, with tees, dated rates and the catch on each. Prices change daily; treat them as a guide.

Quick facts

  • Courses: King's North, SouthCreek, West Course (54 holes, one clubhouse).
  • Access: public, daily fee. Owner: Founders Group International.
  • Address: 4900 National Dr, Myrtle Beach. Phone 843-448-2300.
  • Design: Arnold Palmer and Francis Duane (SouthCreek, West); King's North began as a 1973 Palmer and Ed Seay layout, was redesigned by Palmer with Duane in 1996 and renovated by Brandon Johnson in 2024-25.
  • Back tees: King's North 7,017 yards (74.2/137), West 6,866 (72.8/126), SouthCreek 6,416 (70.5/123).
  • Drive: about 19 minutes and 10.1 miles from the SkyWheel.
  • Practice: driving range, putting and chipping greens.

Myrtle Beach National golf at a glance

Course Back tees (yds, rating/slope) Spring package vs direct (Sat May 2, AM/PM) Later 2026 package-operator rate
King's North7,017 (74.2/137)$210/$170 package, $214/$170 directNov 1: $136 early AM, $152 AM, $160 PM, $129 late PM
SouthCreek6,416 (70.5/123)$107/$83 package, $111/$90 directSep 7 (Labor Day): $66 early AM, $66 AM, $70 PM, $59 late PM
West6,866 (72.8/126)$112/$97 package, $117/$99 directJul 14: $79 early AM, $70 AM, $56 PM, $50 late PM

The spring figures are per-round rates from a Coastal Golfaway chart published January 9, 2026, comparing a package single round with booking the course direct. The chart says it was captured "January 7, 2025," which likely means 2026. The later figures are package-operator rates from myrtlebeachgolftrips.com for the dates shown, seen November 1, 2026. There is no published rack-rate table by season for any of the three. Rates on Founders tee sheets include the cart.

The useful pattern: booking a single round direct cost only a few dollars more than the package rate in that spring chart. The bigger saving is season and time of day. The West in mid-July cost a fraction of King's North in May.

King's North

King's North is the reason most people come. It started as the North Course in 1973, was redesigned by Palmer with Francis Duane in 1996 and renamed, and has just been through a two-phase renovation by Brandon Johnson, who worked 17 years at Arnold Palmer Design. The front nine reopened in October 2024; the back nine closed May 26, 2025 and reopened in October 2025. The club site says the work is complete.

What changed: the greens were expanded about 36% back to their original size and regrassed with TifEagle ultradwarf bermuda, the bunkers were rebuilt as a mix of formal hazards and waste areas, and lost pin positions were restored. Older listings that call the greens bent predate the work. GolfPass said in April 2026 that the renovated course was still maturing during a very dry spring.

The holes people talk about:

  • No. 6, "The Gambler": a par 5 with an alternate island fairway as a shortcut.
  • The island-green par 3: myrtlebeachgolf.com calls it the 12th; other sources say the 3rd, with a bunker shaped like South Carolina.
  • No. 18: a par 4 lined by 30 to 40 bunkers.

King's North was named in Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Courses (cited as 2004) and ranked ninth in GolfPass's Top Courses in South Carolina in 2023. On myrtlebeachgolf.com it scored 4.43 out of 5 from 923 reviews, with the usual complaints being the amount of sand, pace and an older clubhouse.

King's North tee Yards Rating / slope
Black (men)7,01774.2 / 137
Gold (men)6,48171.1 / 131
White (men)6,02469.3 / 125
Blue (men)5,66267.5 / 118
Blue (women)5,66272.0 / 127
Red (women)4,81667.4 / 113

The tee data comes from GolfPass and may predate the 2025 back-nine work, so check the card. See the King's North course guide for the full listing.

SouthCreek

SouthCreek is the shortest of the three at just over 6,400 yards from the tips, and narrower, so accuracy beats length. It has risk-reward water holes but a 123 slope from the back, the lowest of the three. It suits a mixed-ability group better than King's North, and it works well as an arrival-day round. Its greens were listed as bentgrass on GolfPass, not confirmed current.

Tees: Blue 6,416 (70.5/123), White 6,089 (69.1/118), Gold 5,710 (67.3/112), Red 4,723 (women, 66.5/109). See the SouthCreek course guide.

The West Course

The West is the open one: a Palmer layout through native pines with no housing on the property, per the club, and wide enough to swing freely. It is usually the cheapest of the three and fine for a budget round or a second round the same day. GolfPass also lists bentgrass greens here, not confirmed current.

Tees: Blue 6,866 (72.8/126), White 6,114 (69.4/118), Gold 5,690 (67.2/115), Red 5,307 (women, 70.4/118). GolfPass's scorecard totals for the Gold and Red differ from its tee table, so check the card on site. The West Course guide has the listing.

Booking Myrtle Beach National golf

Each course has its own online tee sheet on teetimecentralonline.com, linked from myrtlebeachnational.com. The courses are also sold on Founders Group's myrtlebeachgolf.com and through package operators. The booking window was not published.

Founders packages on myrtlebeachgolf.com include:

  • Founders Inclusive: lunch, two drinks and range balls with the round.
  • Multi-round discounts when you book several Founders courses.
  • A $100 gift card after four or more Founders rounds.

Because the three courses share a clubhouse, a 36-hole day here is easy: King's North in the morning and SouthCreek or the West after lunch. Our guide to Founders Group golf courses in Myrtle Beach lists the other courses you can bundle, and Myrtle Beach golf packages explains package versus direct.

Winter conditions

King's North was overseeded wall to wall, rough included, in winter 2025-26, per a myrtlebeachgolftrips.com list of the Strand's best overseeded courses; the 2026-27 plan was not confirmed. An undated course review says all three Myrtle Beach National courses go through overseeding, but how much of SouthCreek and the West gets rye was not stated. Aerification dates were not published. Read Myrtle Beach golf winter conditions before a December to February trip.

Where to stay for Myrtle Beach National golf

Myrtle Beach National is inland, so any central base works. The closest stays on our map:

For the rest of the inland corridor, read Carolina Forest golf.

Which course to play

  • One round only: King's North, for the renovation and the Gambler.
  • Mixed group or arrival day: SouthCreek.
  • Budget or second round: the West.
  • Summer value: the West in July, where a package operator showed $50 late afternoon for July 14, 2026 (seen November 1, 2026).

For how these stack up against the rest of the Strand, see the best golf courses in Myrtle Beach and Myrtle Beach golf rates.

Plan it on the map

Open the Myrtle Beach golf map to see Myrtle Beach National golf on the map: the three courses off US 501, the Founders courses around them and the hotels at Broadway at the Beach. The $30 plan slots King's North, SouthCreek and the West onto the right days, with the drive between each round worked out.

Courses in this guide

Questions golfers ask

How many courses are at Myrtle Beach National?

Three 18-hole courses, 54 holes in all: King's North, SouthCreek and the West Course. They share one clubhouse complex at 4900 National Dr, off US 501. All three are daily-fee public courses owned and run by Founders Group International.

Which Myrtle Beach National course is best?

King's North is the marquee course, an Arnold Palmer layout with the island-fairway par-5 6th, renovated in 2024-25. SouthCreek is shorter and tighter, and the West is the most forgiving. Most groups play King's North once and use the other two as value rounds.

How much does King's North cost?

For a Saturday May 2 tee time, a package-operator single round was $210 in the morning and $170 in the afternoon, against $214 and $170 booked direct, per a chart published January 9, 2026. A package seller listed $136 to $160 for November 1, 2026, with late afternoon at $129 (seen November 1, 2026). Rates change daily.

Is the King's North renovation finished?

Yes. Brandon Johnson's two-phase renovation reopened the front nine in October 2024 and the back nine in October 2025. Greens were expanded about 36% back to original size and regrassed with TifEagle bermuda, and the bunkers were rebuilt.

Does Myrtle Beach National overseed in winter?

King's North was overseeded wall to wall, rough included, in winter 2025-26; the 2026-27 plan was not confirmed. An undated review says all three courses are overseeded, but the extent on SouthCreek and the West was not stated. Call before a winter trip.

How far is Myrtle Beach National from the beach?

About 19 minutes and 10.1 miles from the SkyWheel by our routed estimate, without traffic. The Fairfield Inn and Hampton Inn at Broadway at the Beach are each about 18 to 19 minutes away, and the Legends villas about 19.

Can I book Myrtle Beach National in a package?

Yes. All three courses are sold direct, on Founders Group's myrtlebeachgolf.com and through golf package operators. Founders packages there include a Founders Inclusive option with lunch, two drinks and range balls, multi-round discounts and a $100 gift card after four or more Founders rounds.

Keep reading