Rio Grande Valley golf rates, course by course and by season
Rio Grande Valley golf rates for 2026-27: green fees, cart, twilight and season packages at every public course, with sources and dates. Rates change.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Rio Grande Valley golf rates seen in October 2026 run from about $21 to walk 18 at a city course (an undated sheet) to $79 with a cart at South Padre Island Golf Club on a weekend morning. Most McAllen-area city courses charge $33 to $47 with a cart, twilight starts at 2 PM, and season packages cut the cost for long stays.
The tricky part is that only a few Valley courses publish a current rate card. Champion Lakes, Tierra del Sol and South Padre Island Golf Club do. Several others have undated figures from listings or news reports, and some publish nothing. This guide puts every public course in one table, says where each number came from, and explains how prices move through the year. Rates change, so treat this as a starting point and confirm before you play.
Quick facts
- Range: $21 walking (Shary, undated sheet) to $79 with a cart (South Padre Island Golf Club, Friday to Sunday morning).
- Typical city course: $33 to $47 with a cart at Champion Lakes; $26 to $41 at Tierra del Sol.
- Twilight: 2 PM in winter at Champion Lakes and Tierra del Sol (3 PM in daylight time).
- Season switch: many courses and parks move to season pricing around November 1.
- Cheapest season: summer, with the lowest rates of the year.
- Tax: South Padre Island Golf Club adds 7.75% sales tax to its rates.
Rio Grande Valley golf rates by course
| Course | 18 holes walking | 18 holes with cart | Twilight | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shary, Mission | $21 | $33.50 with a shared cart | Not listed | City rate sheet, undated |
| Tierra del Sol, Pharr | $26 | $41 | $28 with cart | City golf site, Oct 2026 |
| Champion Lakes, McAllen | $33 | $47 | $37 with cart | Course site, effective Feb 1, 2026 |
| Los Lagos, Edinburg | No card | No card | $26 with cart (reviewer) | GolfPass review, undated |
| Tierra Santa, Weslaco | From $24 online | Not stated | $35 from 3 PM with cart (reviewer, undated) | GolfNow, Oct 2026 |
| Llano Grande, Mercedes | From $18.99 online | Not stated | Not listed | GolfNow, Oct 2026 |
| Tony Butler, Harlingen | Not stated | $36 | Not listed | News report, year not shown |
| Treasure Hills, Harlingen | Not stated | About $40 | Not listed | Undated report |
| Rancho Viejo El Diablo | $37 (another listing $45) | Not stated | Not listed | Undated listings |
| Rancho Viejo El Angel | $40 | Not stated | Not listed | Undated listing |
| River Bend, Brownsville | $38 | $35-$49 (2023 review) | Not listed | Undated listing |
| Brownsville Golf Center | No rates published | No rates published | Not listed | City says often the lowest |
| South Padre Island Golf Club, Laguna Vista | Cart included | $69 Mon-Thu / $79 Fri-Sun | $50 / $55 | Club rate page (undated card), read Oct 2026 |
Where a listing gives one number without saying whether a cart is included, the table puts it in the walking column as a base fee. Ebony Hills, Edinburg's 9-hole city course, has no current rate card, though the city calls it very affordable. Monte Cristo posts no rates; one January 2026 reviewer paid a $100 annual membership and then under $14 for 18 with a cart.
Private clubs are not open to visitors. McAllen Country Club and Harlingen Country Club are member-only.
Nine holes, carts and extras
| Course | 9 holes | Cart | Private cart trail fee | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shary | $16 walking | $25 per cart for 18 | $11 a day | Lit range, 7 AM to midnight |
| Tierra del Sol | $17 walking, $27 with cart | $15 per player for 18, $10 for 9 | $100 a month | $5 small, $10 large bucket |
| Champion Lakes | $21.50 (extra 9 $11.50) | $14 per person for 18, $8.50 for 9 | $8 a round or $550 a year | Lit range to 10 PM |
| South Padre Island Golf Club | $40 Fri-Sun from 3 PM | Included | Not listed | Not listed |
Tierra del Sol also sells a $20 replay with a cart. Champion Lakes has afternoon couples ($30 for two) and family ($25) rates with a cart from 4 PM standard time.
How Rio Grande Valley golf rates change through the year
Valley courses do not publish neat peak and off-peak cards, but the pattern is clear from what they do publish.
- November: the switch to winter. Many parks and courses move to season pricing around November 1. The best example is Tony Butler, where a news report said the city raised the rate from $28 to $36 with a cart effective November 7 for the Winter Texan return (the article's year is not shown).
- December to March: peak Winter Texan season. Rates are at their winter level and mornings are hardest to book. Tierra del Sol's 1-month package is not sold January to March.
- April and May: the winter crowd leaves after Easter (March 28, 2027), tee times open up and many courses drop to summer rates.
- June to September: courses stay open with their lowest rates of the year, but it is hot and humid and September is the wettest month.
South Padre Island Golf Club says it has variable and seasonal rates, but its published card has no dates. GolfNow Hot Deals there ran about $42 to $72 for October 18-22, 2026.
Season packages and memberships
For stays of a month or longer, packages change the math.
| Course | Package | Price (seen Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Tierra del Sol | 1 month single with cart (Apr-Dec only) | $350 |
| Tierra del Sol | 3 months, a round a day with cart | $800 single / $1,200 couple; extra month $350 / $500 |
| Tierra del Sol | Annual | $1,100 single / $1,700 couple |
| Tierra del Sol | Punch cards with cart | 10 x 18 $340; 25 x 18 $850; 25 x 9 $625 |
| Champion Lakes | 20-round Smart Card (expires after 18 months) | $561 |
| Shary | Annual green-fee membership | $900 (an older sheet showed $925 single, $825 senior) |
| Shary | 20-round 18-hole card | About $400 |
| River Bend | Seasonal 3-month membership | $200/month individual, $300 family, plus trail or cart fee |
Our Rio Grande Valley golf passes guide explains which package suits which stay, and cheap golf in the Rio Grande Valley ranks the lowest fees and twilight windows.
Reading Rio Grande Valley golf rates
Three things to keep in mind. First, undated listings can be years old, so the Rancho Viejo, River Bend, Treasure Hills and Tony Butler figures need a phone call. Second, Los Lagos and Ebony Hills move to Troon management from late 2026, so their rates may change. Third, booking-site prices are often prepaid with strict cancellation, while the rack rate is not.
The Champion Lakes course guide, Tierra del Sol course guide and South Padre Island Golf Club course guide carry the full cards for the three courses that publish them. For the full list of courses, see Rio Grande Valley golf courses; for a trip budget, Rio Grande Valley golf trip cost; and for when to go, the best time to golf in the Rio Grande Valley. Comparing towns? Our Yuma golf rates guide lists the Arizona side.
Plan it on the map
Open the Rio Grande Valley golf map to see every course with its fee range and the drive times between them. The $30 plan builds a trip or a whole winter stay around rates that fit your budget, with a weekly course rotation for longer stays.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
How much is a round of golf in the Rio Grande Valley?
On published rates seen in October 2026, an 18-hole round runs from $21 walking at Shary in Mission (undated city rate sheet) to $79 with a cart at South Padre Island Golf Club on a weekend morning. Most city courses fall between $33 and $47 with a cart.
Do Rio Grande Valley golf rates go up in winter?
Some do. A news report said Tony Butler in Harlingen raised its rate from $28 to $36 with a cart effective November 7 for the Winter Texan return, though the article's year is not shown. Many parks and courses switch to season pricing around November 1, so check each.
Which Valley courses publish their rates?
Champion Lakes in McAllen (effective February 1, 2026), Tierra del Sol in Pharr and South Padre Island Golf Club publish rate cards online, though the South Padre card has no dates. Shary in Mission has an undated city rate sheet. Most other courses list no rates online, so call.
How much is a golf cart in the Rio Grande Valley?
Champion Lakes charges $14 per person for 18 holes, Tierra del Sol $15 per player and Shary $25 per cart ($12.50 each when shared). South Padre Island Golf Club includes the cart in every published rate.
Are there senior rates for golf in the Valley?
None of the published daily rate cards list a senior or Winter Texan rate. Shary's rate sheet showed a senior annual membership at $825 against $925 for a single, and junior 18 holes at $7.
What do South Padre Island Golf Club rates include?
The rates include a cart: $69 Monday to Thursday and $79 Friday to Sunday before 2 PM, with twilight at $50 and $55. All rates are plus 7.75% sales tax, and a non-golfing rider is $25.
When are Valley golf rates lowest?
In summer. Courses stay open year round with their lowest rates from about May to September, and many drop to summer rates after the Winter Texans leave in April. Per-course summer prices were not published.
Keep reading
PlanningA snowbird golf schedule for Texas: a weekly rotation in the Rio Grande ValleyA snowbird golf schedule for Texas: weekly Rio Grande Valley rotations from a McAllen or Harlingen base, built on passes, twilight rates and winter weather.6 min read
PlanningRio Grande Valley golf: areas, season and how to plan a trip or a winterRio Grande Valley golf explained: the four areas from Mission to the coast, the November-March season, airports, and how a short trip differs from a winter.7 min read
CoursesRio Grande Valley golf courses: every course a visitor can playAll 15 Rio Grande Valley golf courses a visitor can play, from Mission to Laguna Vista, with fees seen October 2026, yardages and drive times from McAllen.7 min read