Destin golf resorts compared: what each stay gets you on the course
Destin golf resorts side by side: Sandestin, the Hilton Sandestin, Hotel Effie, Henderson Beach and the St. Joe inns, with the courses, fees and catches.
Open the 3D map of every course →
Destin golf resorts come in two families. Sandestin, with the Hilton Sandestin and Hotel Effie inside its gates, gives guest rates on four courses and the only way into Burnt Pine. On 30A, Camp Creek Inn and Watersound Inn sell $295 rounds on three private St. Joe courses. Henderson Beach is a beach resort with no golf ties.
Which of the Destin golf resorts fits depends on the golf you want and how much you mind fees on top of the room. Room rates were not published in a form we could read for 2026-27, so this guide compares what each stay unlocks and what it adds to the bill.
Quick facts
- Most golf from one base: Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort (four courses, a tram, Baytowne Wharf).
- Big full-service beach hotel: Hilton Sandestin, inside the Sandestin gates.
- Private championship golf: Camp Creek Inn or Watersound Inn, $295 a round.
- Luxury beach base near public golf: The Henderson Beach Resort, Destin.
- Room rates: not captured for 2026-27; check each brand. Fees below were seen October 2026 and change.
Destin golf resorts side by side
| Resort | Courses it unlocks | Golf price seen | Fees seen (Oct 2026) | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort | Burnt Pine, Raven, Baytowne, Links | Guest rates $69-$179 in 2026 | Resort fee reported $40 + tax (third party) | 10 AM check-out, 25 to book |
| Hilton Sandestin | All four, per the Hilton | Guest rate status not stated | $40/day resort charge, $30 valet | Confirm golf rates by phone |
| Hotel Effie Sandestin | Raven, Baytowne, Links (golf discounts) | Rate tier not stated | Fee "$45 per stay" on site, about $50/night on aggregators; self-park $25, valet $32 | Not on the beach |
| Camp Creek Inn | Camp Creek, Shark's Tooth, The Third | $295 per round | No resort fee listed; free valet | Courses partly closed after Isaias |
| Watersound Inn | Camp Creek, Shark's Tooth, The Third | $295 per round | No resort fee listed; parking included | Only 11 suites, no shuttle |
| The Henderson Beach Resort | None (public courses nearby) | Public rates | $49/day; parking about $29-42 (third party) | No golf deal |
| WaterColor Inn | None confirmed | n/a | No resort fee listed; free parking | Golf access unconfirmed |
| The Pearl Hotel | Origins short course | Public Origins rates | No resort fee listed; free valet | Not a golf base |
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort: the four-course base
Sandestin is the default golf resort on this coast. Staying in Sandestin resort lodging (condos, villas, townhomes and homes from studios to six bedrooms) gets you three things: the resort-guest rate on Raven, Baytowne and The Links, a six-month booking window against 14 days for the public, and access to Burnt Pine after 1 PM.
The 2026 guest savings are real. At The Raven the guest rate is $130 against $159 public from March 6 to November 1 (outside aeration weeks), and $95 against $109 in winter. At Baytowne it is $95 against $119 in spring and $75 against $99 the rest of the year. At The Links it is $95 against $119 most of the year and $69 against $89 in winter. Burnt Pine has one price for members' guests and resort guests: $179 in season and $149 in winter.
The catches: a reported resort fee of $40 plus tax a night (from a third-party site, not confirmed on sandestin.com), a 10 AM check-out, one parking pass per unit, and many units managed by outside agencies that may not pass on resort-guest golf rates. Ask whoever rents you the unit whether it carries Sandestin amenity access. Our Sandestin golf packages guide covers the Classic and Premium stay-and-play deals.
The Hilton Sandestin: the full-service option
The Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa has 590 rooms on the Sandestin beach, seven dining venues including Seagar's steakhouse, an indoor pool for cool winter evenings, and the Sandestin tram to the courses. Its golf page says guests have full access to all four courses, including Burnt Pine, and the course sites give the lower rate to "any Resort or Hilton Guest". The Hilton does not say whether its guests get the six-month window, so ask.
Add $40 a day for the resort charge (self-parking, Wi-Fi, tram and more) and $30 a day if you valet. Check-out is 11 AM with no late check-out, and you must be 25 to check in.
Hotel Effie: the boutique pick inside the gates
Hotel Effie opened in 2021 with 250 rooms beside the Village of Baytowne Wharf. Its resort fee includes Sandestin golf discounts, and it is 3 minutes by road from Baytowne and 6 from Burnt Pine. The hotel does not state its golf rate tier or whether its guests qualify for Burnt Pine, so confirm with the hotel or Sandestin golf before you count on either. It is on the bay side, so the beach is a tram ride away.
Camp Creek Inn and Watersound Inn: the private-course route
These two St. Joe hotels are the clearest way for a visitor to play Camp Creek (Tom Fazio, 7,120 yards, slope 144), Shark's Tooth (Greg Norman, on Lake Powell) and The Third (Davis Love III, opened 2025). Rounds are $295 per golfer, green and cart included, booked through the inn once the room is reserved. Camp Creek Inn has 75 rooms overlooking Camp Creek and its range. Watersound Inn has 11 kitchen suites by the Watersound Beach Club and sells a Golf Getaway with two rounds.
Three things to plan around. Each course closes one day a week (Camp Creek Monday, Shark's Tooth Tuesday, The Third Wednesday). Member-guest weeks take courses off the guest sheet (Campfest is November 12-14, 2026). And Hurricane Isaias hit on October 9, 2026: Camp Creek was front nine only from October 17 and Shark's Tooth was closed until further notice. The Watersound Club golf guide has the details.
The Henderson Beach Resort: luxury without golf ties
The Henderson Beach Resort opened in 2016 next to Henderson Beach State Park in Destin. It has no course or golf package, but it is about 7 minutes from Kelly Plantation and 6 from Regatta Bay, both of which sell public tee times. The fee load is the heaviest of the resorts in this table: $49 a day plus parking that third-party listings put at about $29-31 self and $39-42 valet. See the Kelly Plantation course guide and the Regatta Bay course guide.
The 30A beach inns: ask before you assume golf
Of the St. Joe hotels on 30A, only Camp Creek Inn and Watersound Inn come with confirmed golf.
WaterColor Inn is the classic beachfront inn on 30A, with free parking and Seaside about a mile away. Current St. Joe pages do not list golf for its guests; only a directory claims Shark's Tooth access. The Pearl Hotel in Rosemary Beach points its guests to Origins, the public short course, and an older Watersound Club arrangement is not current. Both are beach stays first.
Which Destin golf resort should you book?
Most Destin golf resorts are priced on the room, not the golf, so start with the rounds you want and work back to the bed.
- Four rounds in four days, one condo: Sandestin resort lodging. See the Raven course guide.
- A couple who wants hotel service and the beach: Hilton Sandestin.
- One trip to play Fazio and Norman: Camp Creek Inn, once the courses are fully open.
- Public golf in Destin with a luxury room: Henderson Beach.
Our best golf resort in Destin guide matches each to a type of golfer, and where to stay in Destin for golf covers cheaper bases. For green fees by season, read Destin golf rates, and for timing, the best time to golf in Destin.
Costs to add before you compare
Room prices hide most of the difference between Destin golf resorts. Before you compare, add three things per night: the resort fee, parking, and the gap between public and guest green fees. For a group playing three rounds at Sandestin in spring, the guest rate saves $29 a round at The Raven and $24 at Baytowne or The Links, which can cover a few nights of the reported resort fee. At the St. Joe inns the $295 round is fixed, so the only lever is the room rate and how many rounds you play. At Henderson Beach there is no golf saving at all, so the $49 daily fee and parking are pure extras.
Also check the cancellation terms. Sandestin forfeits the whole reservation inside 7 days of arrival, and golf packages must be cancelled 48 hours before arrival or the golf is charged. Henderson Beach forfeits one night inside 7 days, depending on the rate.
Plan it on the map
Open the Destin golf map to see every resort, the courses it unlocks and the drive to each tee. The $30 plan builds your days around whichever of the Destin golf resorts you choose.
Courses in this guide
Questions golfers ask
Which Destin golf resorts have their own courses?
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort owns four: Burnt Pine, The Raven, Baytowne and The Links. The Hilton Sandestin and Hotel Effie sit inside the Sandestin gates. On 30A, Camp Creek Inn and Watersound Inn sell rounds on the private Watersound Club courses. The Henderson Beach Resort in Destin has no golf of its own.
Which resort gets you onto Burnt Pine?
Burnt Pine is for club members and registered guests of Sandestin resort lodging, with guest tee times after 1 PM. The Hilton Sandestin's own golf page says its guests have full access to all four courses, including Burnt Pine, but Sandestin's Burnt Pine wording does not name the Hilton, so confirm when you book.
How much does golf cost at the St. Joe inns?
Camp Creek Inn and Watersound Inn sell rounds on Camp Creek, Shark's Tooth and The Third at $295 per golfer per round, green and cart fee included, as seen in October 2026. Tee times go through the inn concierge or front desk once you hold a room.
What resort fees should I expect?
As seen in October 2026: the Hilton Sandestin charges $40 a day plus $30 valet, the Henderson Beach Resort $49 a day plus parking, and Sandestin's fee is reported at $40 plus tax by a third-party site only. Camp Creek Inn, Watersound Inn, The Pearl and WaterColor Inn list no resort fee in their FAQs.
Do I need a resort stay to play Kelly Plantation or Regatta Bay?
No. Both sell public tee times. The Henderson Beach Resort is about 7 minutes from Kelly Plantation and 6 from Regatta Bay, but it has no golf deal, so guests pay the same public rates as anyone else.
Can WaterColor Inn or The Pearl guests play the Watersound Club courses?
Not confirmed. Current St. Joe pages do not list Watersound Club golf for WaterColor Inn guests, and The Pearl now points its guests to the Origins short course. If you want Camp Creek, Shark's Tooth or The Third, book Camp Creek Inn or Watersound Inn.
Are the St. Joe courses open after Hurricane Isaias?
Only partly as of late October 2026. Camp Creek was running its front nine only from October 17, 2026, and Shark's Tooth was closed until further notice. Check with the inn before you book a fall 2026 trip around them.
Keep reading
HotelsThe best golf resort in Destin depends on the golfer: here is how to chooseThe best golf resort in Destin for you: Sandestin for four courses and Burnt Pine, Camp Creek Inn for Fazio, the Hilton for service, Henderson for the beach.6 min read
CoursesDestin golf courses: every course you can actually bookDestin golf courses side by side: which sell public tee times, which need a resort stay, which are private or closed, with slopes, drive times and 2026 fees.8 min read
PlanningDestin vs Panama City Beach golf: which base gets you the better golf tripDestin vs Panama City Beach golf: the courses each base reaches, drive times, fees, the private St. Joe courses in between, airports and where to base.6 min read