Lie of the LandMyrtle Beach & the Grand Strand

public · Pawleys Island, SC · 18 holes

Caledonia Golf & Fish Club

The South Strand's best-known public round: a short, beautiful Strantz par 70 under live oaks, finishing at the clubhouse porch. Not a long-hitter's test, and among the dearer tee times on the Strand in spring and fall; book it as the trip's splurge and pair it with True Blue.

Par70
Tips6,526 yd
Rating / slope71.8 / 138
Green fees seen$79–$189

Tees, rating and slope

TeeYardsMenWomen
Pintail6,52671.8 / 138–
Blue6,12169.5 / 134–
Wood Duck5,71067.6 / 12773.2 / 131
Redhead4,95764.5 / 12068.7 / 124

Course rating / slope, USGA Course Rating database where available.

Green fees

PeakSpring and fall are peak season (club FAQ). Myrtle Beach Golf Trips listed $189 for early AM, AM and late PM on Oct 4, 2026 (PM 'call to book'; search snippet seen 2026-11-01). No published spring rate found.
SummerSummer 2026 specials (6/22/26-8/30/26): AM from $129, PM from $99, twilight after 4 pm $79. Summer 2027 specials (6/21/27-8/31/27): AM from $129, PM from $109; juniors 12 and under $29 any time, 17 and under $29 after noon. Two-course Caledonia + True Blue special offered; price not shown.
Twilight$79 after 4 pm in summer 2026 specials; GreenFeeTracker (checked May 25, 2026) lists weekday $129 and twilight $79 with cart. GolfLink estimates about $254 with cart (estimate, undated).

Club rates page read 2026-11-01; GreenFeeTracker Apr 28 and May 25, 2026; Myrtle Beach Golf Trips Oct 4, 2026 rate. Carts included in green fee (club FAQ).

Before you book

AccessDaily-fee public course; anyone can book. Tee times on the club site (GuestDesk booking engine) or by phone 1-800-483-6800. Stay-and-play packages through sister company Caledonia Golf Vacations (3-night minimum, 3 rounds). Sister course: True Blue, across US 17.
Overseed / closuresOverseeds in fall: a yourgolfpackage.com reviewer (Nov 9, 2025) was told the course was cart-path-only due to overseeding. Seed type and dates not published.
DesignerMike Strantz
Opened1994
StyleLowcountry parkland on a former rice plantation on the Waccamaw River: live oaks with Spanish moss, marsh, small well-guarded greens, short par-70 that rewards position over length.
CartsCart included with every round (club tee-times page). Walking policy not published.
PracticeDriving range, putting green, chipping green (MyrtleBeachGolf.com).
Drive from the SkyWheel40 min (27.2 mi)
Phone1-800-483-6800
Address369 Caledonia Dr, Pawleys Island, SC 29585

Signature holes

  • #18 - par 4 played across water to the clubhouse porch, usually with a gallery (MyrtleBeachGolf.com)

Local knowledge

  • Pair it with True Blue: same owner, a two-course special requires one round at each within a 7-day window, payment at the first course.
  • The 18th green sits under the clubhouse porch, so expect an audience on the closing approach.
  • Short by modern standards; most groups should play the tees one step back from usual, but the greens are small, so accuracy matters more than distance.

Hole by hole

HoleParYards*Elev*Hcp
14341+2 ft
255640 ft
33171-1 ft
44396-1 ft
54404-1 ft
631580 ft
74382+3 ft
85514-3 ft
93960 ft
105518+3 ft
1131570 ft
1243570 ft
1343580 ft
144413-2 ft
154438+1 ft
164390-1 ft
1731560 ft
184349-1 ft

*Yards measured along the mapped centre line (OpenStreetMap), close to the middle tees. Elevation = how far the green sits above (+) or below (−) the tee, from USGS terrain data.

Recognition

  • Golf Digest course page: '2025-26 ranking: 29th' (previous 28th); page says ranked inside the top 25 2013-22 and inside the top 30 2023-26. The list is not named in the snippet seen; the numbers match Golf Digest's South Carolina (Best in State) list, not the national public list.
  • Golf Digest America's 100 Greatest Public Courses: 86th (club press release, edition year not stated). Golf Digest's 2023-24 public list reported Caledonia had dropped off.
  • Golf Digest America's 75 Best Golf Resorts 2025 (club site).
  • Golfweek Top 100 Public-Access Courses (club press release, rank and year not stated; image path suggests 2026).

Closest golf hotels

Questions golfers ask

How much does it cost to play Caledonia Golf & Fish Club?

Green fees we have seen range from $79–$189, depending on season and time of day. Peak season: Spring and fall are peak season (club FAQ). Myrtle Beach Golf Trips listed $189 for early AM, AM and late PM on Oct 4, 2026 (PM 'call to book'; search snippet seen 2026-11-01). No published spring rate found.

How hard is Caledonia Golf & Fish Club?

From the back tees it measures 6,526 yards with a course rating of 71.8 and a slope of 138. 3/5 - short at 6,526 yards from the tips, but small, well-protected greens and forced shots over water and marsh; 138 slope from the back.

How far is Caledonia Golf & Fish Club from Myrtle Beach?

About 40 minutes (27.2 miles) by road from the SkyWheel in light traffic.

Guides that feature Caledonia